Welcome

Welcome to my new blog, I am glad you’re here. I had the idea in my head that I needed this space all polished and pretty before I let anyone else in – I wanted to have everything ‘just so’ before sharing. But that resulted in six months of nothing getting done. So, I have decided, that rather like having family over, I’ve polished all the important bits and of the rest of it, I’ll just have to hope you’re understanding as the construction continues.

In this first post, besides stretching my blogging wings, I’d like to let you know why I started this blog. This information will possibly migrate to the ‘About the Blog’ page later, we’ll see. There is already additional information there.

To start with, this blog is a compromise. People have been gently nudging me to join a certain social networking site for several years now. I have my reasons as to why not, but the fact remains that they are on it and I am not. So this is my attempt at compromise. I can have an online presence, a way to post pictures and let people know about what is going on in my life and try out my writing. And said people can have a way to find out what is going on, to see my pictures, to pester me with comments if they’d like, and generally interact in a cyber-space manner without my having to give up my objections to that other network.

I do journal some for my self (not every day, but I do write) and I like being able to look back on those and see what has happened in my life. Though I will admit that the ones from when I was fifteen or sixteen make me cringe sometimes. So another reason for this blog is to have a record of sorts of my journey. I am hoping this will be a more interactive record than my personal journals have been.

Another reason is, honestly, I just like playing with words. I have loved to write for a very long time and I love rummaging around in my head for the right words – whether trying to capture exactly what I’m feeling at that moment, or what I’m seeing, or trying to follow the twists and turns of some imaginary character. (I do realize that I tend to make run-on sentences a lot, which I may try to control, I may not. You readers may just have to put up with it. Thankfully this blog has spell-check which I fully intend to use, but anything that gets past that is not my fault. Also, I like parentheses.) I am looking forward to having a playground to let my words out in the sun again – and hoping that the other words playing there will be kind, or at least not shove mine in the dirt too often.

Finally, I am also hoping to share some pictures, but there have been some technical complications with my efforts so far, so we will have to see how that goes.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Welcome

  1. Emily G. says:

    Love it, Roo! I’m looking forward to keeping up with you this way. I like to read your thoughts and the way you express yourself. Way to go!

    Like

  2. Dan says:

    Oh man your on the intarwebs!!

    Like

  3. dagossner says:

    I love it!!! I am so excited to read more, but alas Dad is waiting on dinner. I will be back tho lots of times. HUGS

    Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Thanks for stopping by our blog! I look forward to following you on your new blogging adventure, and it was so nice to finally meet you in March 🙂

    Like

  5. susan says:

    Glad to get to hear what you are up to. Looking forward to the journey!

    Like

  6. Linda Potter says:

    Hey, Ruth,
    Thanks loads for this link, what fun to have more regular contact from you. Besides our mutual love of rocks, I see plants is another shared enjoyment. I’m looking forward to catching up on the blogs you already have on this site.

    Like

Any thoughts?

