Last Saturday

I had a pretty good Saturday. Had some breakfast, swept the kitchen floor (it had been a while), took a trip to the grocery store. After some lunch – eaten on the balcony ’cause the weather was warm enough 🙂 – I made it to the library without getting lost. This is an achievement because the library is right downtown and one-way streets are not good for someone who is directionally challenged to start with.

There I picked up the next book in the Discworld series I’m reading by Terry Pratchett and an audio book to entertain me on my two hour round trip commute. This is my first time trying an audio book for my commute, so I picked an Anne McCaffrey book I know but haven’t read in a while. Besides a few differences in the pronunciation of some names, which I expected, so far I am enjoying it. The reader even does accents, which is entertaining. It is a little odd to be experiencing the book in such short chunks, though, since I usually read faster and for longer.

Anyway, after I made it home on Saturday (also without getting lost, which is not always a given) I decided to clean my car. Or at least to wipe off the grimy finger-prints that the wonderful mechanics left on the door handles when my car was in the shop well over a year ago (that’s how long I’ve been ‘meaning to’ clean my car…). It had stopped raining after the tremendous thunderstorm that rolled through while I was at the library. So I got the bottle of generic glass cleaner, the paper towels, the sanitizer wipes, and the Rain-X for the outside of the windows. Got the windows done inside and out, nothing much exciting except that a station wagon has a lot of them.

Then I sat down in the driver’s seat and ran one of the sanitizer wipes around the outside of the steering wheel. It looked like someone had taken a clean hanky out and stomped it in a muddy soccer field. By the third one it was merely the dingy grey of an old undershirt and the fourth wipe finally came away clean. The steering wheel in my car is dark brownish-grey to start with, so I hadn’t been able to see the buildup. The first horrified thought in my head was “I’ve been touching this thing every day!” Do you ever think about how many things we touch every day?

I’m not much of a germaphobe, I’ll eat things off the floor (though I stopped for a little while at my place, since I knew how long it had been since my kitchen floor was cleaned :-p), etc. But finding out how dirty my steering wheel was gave me the heebie-jeebies. After I started thinking about it, I also wiped down the gear shift knob, the wiper & turn signal thingies, the e-brake handle, the door handles… 🙂 I know, now you have the urge to go clean things. Sorry ’bout that.

After I finished cleaning, the clouds stopped playing hide and seek with the sun so I had good enough light at the right angle to take some pictures of the flowers along one edge of the parking lot. I think they are hydrangeas, though I don’t remember seeing them in white before and certainly not in a seven-foot hedge.

Hydrangea in the hedge.

Hydrangea in the hedge.

Some of them still had raindrops from earlier in the day and there were a lot of baby leaves coming out.

Hydrangea with tiny little raindrop.

Hydrangea with tiny little raindrop.

Brand new leaves and flowers with raindrops are some of my favorite things to take pictures of.

New leaves.

New leaves.

More hydrangeas.

More hydrangeas.

New leaf standing tall in the sun.

New leaf standing tall in the sun.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I had taken all the pictures I wanted, I went and got a water bottle and used up more paper towels rinsing all the sticky sanitzer residue off my steering wheel – it feels much better now. All in all, it was a pretty good day. Even with finding out my car was grosser than I thought it was, because now it’s clean. 🙂

I hope you had a good weekend too!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Saturday

  1. Susie says:

    I love the tiny raindrop picture! 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts?

