Thankful Thursday

I had a good long weekend, with a softball tournament, a trip to visit family, my niece’s birthday party & trip to the county fair, and then a nice slow Monday off (though I did drive back that day). I’ve decided long weekends are the way to go. 🙂 The rest of the week has been pretty much business as usual.

This week, I’m thankful for many things, including:

  • Funnel cakes in all their crispy, doughy, sugary, warm deep-fried goodness. 😀
  • A cool breeze through my window when my room gets stuffy at night.

    Picture of Sackett audiobook cover

    (c) Louis L’Amour, Random House Audio –           click for more

  • Audio books – I borrowed a Louis L’Amour to listen to on the drive last weekend. (For those of you who don’t know, Louis wrote bestselling Westerns for over thirty years, starting in the ’50s.) Thanks for passing along the love Mom. 🙂
  • The ease of travel these days – so I could get to my brother & sister-in-law’s house in half a day by car, instead of it taking a week and a half, or more, by wagon.
  • My family. Sharing laughter, hugs, good food, good advice, and just time together. I am so thankful that my family gets along.
  • Grocery stores that are open late.

Have you been blessed with family – or friends like family? Read – or listened to – any good books lately?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. Aunt Susan says:

    I loved your Random information posting! So glad you got to spend time with your family, and I am sure they enjoyed it just as much as you did! Going over to Gram’s in a couple of weeks! Wish you could join us….but that would be a rather long car ride =) Love you huge!

    Like

  2. Gramma says:

    On this thankful Thursday I am blessed with all of the above, family, friends, strength for the day, and lovely grown up grand children whom I dearly love!

    Like

  3. Susan Gossner says:

    We also love horses and horse books. Have you read any books by Marguerite Henry? Our favorite thus far is the White Stallion of Lipizza. We also went to the Douglas County Fair & Rodeo on Sunday. There was a free pancake breakfast, and free admission to the fair, and it was only $5 for the rodeo. We even brought a friend for Sarah. Oh, I am so thankful that my daughter has friends!!!

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      I have read and loved many of Marguerite Henry’s books and I own several, though I haven’t read them in years. I think my favorite of hers is the classic Misty of Chincoteague. 🙂 A free pancake breakfast with a fair *and* a rodeo sounds like a wonderful combination!

      Like

Any thoughts?

