News

Well, there’s good news and there’s bad news. Or, rather, good news and not-so-good news, it’s not necessarily all bad – but ‘bad news’ is shorter to type than ‘not-so-good news’ and I’m occasionally lazy.News clipart with mic

The bad news is, the kitchen floor in my new apartment is really creaky. The good news is, I’m pretty sure there’s no one under me but the laundry and the storage.

The bad news is, I am out of shape and I was stiff and sore the next day from all that work moving on Saturday, even though I had help. The good news is, it wasn’t as bad as I was afraid it would be and I did get a great workout.

The bad news is my new floor-to-ceiling curtains in the living room don’t actually close all the way; there’s about a six inch gap. The good news is that they cover my gigantic new sliding glass door with big glass panels to either side and the new place is east facing, so that huge wall of glass lets in lots of light on sunny mornings and I love it. 🙂 Also, the landlady said it should be easy to fix the curtains (I just haven’t gotten to it yet).

The bad news is, I found a mosquito inside on my first night in the new place. The good news is, I snatched that bloodsucker out the air one-handed like a ninja.

The bad news is, there’s no bathroom closet like I was used to in my old apartment. The good news is, the bathroom is newly remodeled, so everything is clean and fresh. Also, there is a large hall closet right across from the bathroom and two closets in my room, so I think I’ll be able to find somewhere to stash all my bathroom closet stuff.

The bad news is, I only have four fish left. The good news is, that’s how many I had before I moved, so all of them have survived – so far. It’s bad news because they are Neon Tetras, which are schooling fish and happiest in groups of eight or more. I need to restock.

The bad news is, the stove only has on/off/temperature knobs – no clock, no timer, no preheat settings/indicators, nada. The good news is, it’s a brand-new, nice-and-clean, four burner gas stove with oven and broiler – not a two burner electric hotplate perched on top of the dryer like two apartments ago.

The bad news is, my “new” used vacuum cleaner is a battle-scarred dinosaur of a machine (it’s even green!) on which several things are broken including the power button. The good news is, it works, it’s easy enough to work around the power button by unplugging it, and it was free.

The bad news is, I have no pictures for this post because I have been busy cleaning the old apartment instead of unpacking at the new place, so it looks like a train wreck. The good news is, I finished the cleaning last night, so now I can start organizing/unpacking. Plus, there is no twisted metal, shattered glass, leaking fuel, or screaming people, so my apartment doesn’t actually look like a train wreck, it just looks like someone recently moved and some serious work needs done.

Speaking of serious work, the boxes aren’t unpacking themselves (how great would that be?), so I should get going. The good news is, I survived the move, I really like the new place, and I might get to sleep before midnight tonight. 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to News

  1. Susie P. says:

    Yay for moving and new places and lots of good things. 🙂 Hope your unpacking goes well, I’m still working on it from my move a couple weeks ago.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

