Fall Beauty

This past Friday, since it was one of those gorgeous blue-sky Fall days you get sometimes, I took lunch a little early and stepped outside to get some pictures.

close-up on red-brown-gold leaves in the sun

Blaze of glory, October, 2013

I love using the angle of the sun to backlight leaves and flowers and fragile things. It lets you see their structure and colors in a whole new way.

Backlit leaf turned mostly to yellow

Fading to yellow, October, 2013

I went out again as the evening was coming on, hoping to get some ‘golden hour’ shots, but I misjudged it and lost the light a lot faster than I had anticipated (I can’t actually see a window from my cube). It did let me play around with some fun silhouettes, though.

Silhouette of mostly bare tree branches against evening clouds

Lingering leaves against the sunset, October, 2013

Today was cloudy and rainy and colder, but now I have these pictures to remind me of the things I do love about Fall. As I’ve said before, four seasons took me some getting used to, but I like that my photography can help me find God’s beauty in all of them.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Picture Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?

