A Hymn

A few weeks back, there was a box of free stuff someone was getting rid of at work. Among other items, there were multiple CDs, several of them compilations of hymns. I took a couple of the hymn CDs, including one called Favorite Hymns. It was in the wrong case, so I knew nothing about it other than the title, a song list printed on the front, and that it had been put out by the American Bible Society. While I enjoy contemporary worship, I have a bit of a soft spot for hymns – they take me back to Sundays in my growing-up years with worn blue hymnals on wooden benches that often rocked on the uneven painted concrete floor of our multi-denominational, multi-national mission center church…

One day last week, having a bit of a rough day for several reasons, I finally put the Favorite Hymns CD in the player in my car. The first song is a fabulous a cappella rendition of Great is Thy Faithfulness (written by Thomas Chisholm in 1923, music by William Runyan). I know some of the words are old fashioned, but the third verse (this version left out the second, which you can see at the link above) really just hit me where I was at. No matter what I have done, or forgotten to do, there is pardon; no matter how frustrated or stressed, there is peace that endureth; no matter how tired, there is strength for today; and always, always, there is hope for tomorrow. That is a comforting and encouraging knowledge. I needed that lift that day. So I decided to share it here in case anyone else needs a lift, for whatever reason.

Pine seedling with raindrops in the sun

Pine seedling, California, Dec, 2012

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father
There is no shadow of turning with Thee

Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not
As Thou hast been, Thou forever wilt be.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning, new mercies I see

All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning, new mercies I see
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness
Great is Thy faithfulness
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Hymn

  1. Gramma says:

    Thanks Ruth for the hymn. I love that one, and many more of course. I forgot to tell you, we did not get any snow at my house, but further up the hill. I am thankful for the rain, makes things smell so good. love you

    Like

Any thoughts?

