Thankful Thursday

The temperature has been fluctuating here, sometimes highs in the low fifties, sometimes like today in the mid-seventies (low teens to low twenties for any Celsius readers). It makes it hard to know how many layers to wear sometimes, but I guess that’s Fall for you.

A large part of my daily commute is tree lined; it’s been fun watching the colors change as the days pass. It started a couple weeks ago with some shy yellows woven among the greens. In the last few days there have come bold oranges and reds shouldering the greens aside and many of the yellows have deepened to gold. The leaf carpets are starting to build below the trees now; though they are fallen, they still hold their color. I feel like it’s the most  beautiful part of Fall, when the colors are bright and everywhere.

Besides bright leaves, this week I’m thankful for:

  • heated seats in my car, to help fill that gap on these cold Fall mornings between getting in the car and it warming up enough for the heater to do any good (I didn’t look for heated seats as a feature in a car, but now that I have them, I love them!)
  • caramel apples – messy, gooey, crunchy, tangy, stuck-to-your-teeth, sweet goodness

    Oxalis corniculata var. atropurpurea (pretty sure this is what I have)

    Oxalis corniculata var. atropurpurea (pretty sure this is what I have)

  • little five-petaled yellow flowers on the purple oxalis my fellow-plant-loving co-worker brought from her yard to share with me a week or two ago – they’re in a jar of water on my desk with the begonias I mentioned last week and just keep blooming; they make me smile
  • leftover chocolate birthday cake
  • bright colored socks to make me grin (I wore very bright orange ones today with my black flats as a nod to the holiday, which is about all the acknowledgement it’ll get from me)
  • that my homemade chili over the weekend actually turned out pretty good after I combined parts from multiple recipes. It still needs a little extra something, but I’ll figure it out. Any good chili tips anyone?

I love sharing – feel free to add to my thankful list!

Photo credit: jacilluch / Foter.com / CC BY-SA
About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?

