Snow Day

So, I was planning to post on Tuesday evening about the roughly seven inches of snow we got on Sunday, followed by a coating of ice that night. But then we got more snow on Tuesday morning – it was falling fast and during the morning rush hour, so the decision was made to close the main office.

trees and sidewalk covered in snow

View out my bedroom window, 9 AM, 12/10/13

snow building on bush

Sticky snow, 12/10/13

I was happy to have the day off and spent the morning doing dishes and cleaning the kitchen and bathroom floors. It stopped snowing around one in the afternoon and by two it looked like this for a few minutes, between the moving clouds. It was quite beautiful, besides the cold. [As always, click any picture to see larger.]

bright blue sky over snowy lawn

Beautiful day, 12/10/13

At around three I went out to clean my car off. On the way back in, I was walking past the pile of snow from where they had cleared the sidewalks and thought How often am I going to have a chance like this? Beautiful weather, just cold enough for snow, and I’ve already got my gear on… So I made a snowman in the pile. 🙂 Just a little guy, barely knee-high. I don’t usually color-correct my pictures, but since this one was not only white snowman on

small snowman with three stick buttons

Just a little snowman, 12/10/13

white snow, but he was also in the shade, I gave it a shot on this picture. Not 100% happy with the results, but it’s better than the original picture… and the snowman still makes me smile. 🙂

I figured that if it was warm enough for me to finish my snowman barehanded (who knew that mouth is so hard to get to stay on?) that it was warm enough for my camera to be okay outside for a little while. So I took it out in the parking lot looking for interesting things to photograph. We’d had snow on Sunday, then ice Sunday night/ Monday morning, then warm enough to start things melting Monday afternoon, then snow again Tuesday morning. Tuesday afternoon was right on the edge between freezing and not freezing.

ice forming on puddle

Puddle re-freezing, 12/10/13

Puddles in the process of re-freezing after melting make some fascinating ice shapes.

ice crystals forming on puddle

Ice crystals, 12/10/13

Then I found that in the sticks that remain of the hydrangea hedge along the edge of the parking lot, clumps of snow that hadn’t fallen off were in the process of melting, but had been re-freezing as the temperatures fluctuated in the afternoon, resulting in more fascinating shapes.

melting snow clump forming icicle

12/10/13

miniature icicle

12/10/13

Miniature icicle, 12/10/13

Miniature icicle, 12/10/13

Eventually my hands got too cold without gloves (which is a good indication that it’s probably too cold for my camera) and the light was fading, so I went back into the warm. I finished off my day with fixing my biggest bookshelf and unpacking some more books and then watching a movie with spaghetti for dinner. While I didn’t have quite as much fun as a kid off from school might have, I did pretty thoroughly enjoy my snow day.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snow Day

  1. Gramma says:

    Thank you Ruth for the beautiful pictures. Snow makes everything beautiful, and all for us. Love you!

    Like

  2. Susie says:

    Beautiful pictures! And fun snowman. 🙂

    Like

  3. Aunt Susan says:

    Ha! I heard you had a “Snow Day”! Even as adults, we still enjoy the unexpected day off. Great pictures as always:)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

