Christmas music

Mmm, on the topic of Christmas music I could probably get all deep and eloquent about melodies and sweet childhood memories and apple cider spiced warm-fuzzies (or else I could rant about the mental pain inflicted by a thousand repetitions of “Santa Baby” and “Rudolph” the year I worked at a restaurant over Christmas and they finally let us have music with words instead of the “atmospheric” we usually had to listen to, but “nothing religious”…). But it is the end of a long work day and I have a headache that I am waiting for the Ibuprofen to work on and I really, really need to go home and do laundry.

So, instead, you get a little peek inside my head at some of my favorite Christmas songs, as well as my first experiment at embedding videos in a blog post. If it takes too long to figure out, I may give up and just give you the links – fair warning.

I already mentioned last week that I love Bing Crosby’s version of Silver Bells. There is something so warm and cozy about Bing’s voice… Carol of the Bells is another favorite Christmas song of mine, though there are two – very different! – versions that I currently like best and both are blended with different songs.

An instrumental version by progressive rock band Trans-Siberian Orchestra, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and Carol of the Bells melodies, titled Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24 (read the story of the reason for that title here).

And a vocal version by now-disbanded BarlowGirl, Sing We Now of Christmas and Carol of the Bells melodies, which I just found via the radio last year (the ending is particularly fabulous):

Along with Silver Bells and Carol of the Bells, Mary Did You Know? is in my top five favorite Christmas songs (particularly the version by Christian a cappella band Rescue – thanks Cousin K for the introduction! – which you should really click on over and listen to) along with What Child is This? (though I don’t have a favorite version on that one). As for the fifth of the top five, that changes all the time, depending on what mood I’m in or what I just heard. 🙂

What are your favorite Christmas songs? [Also, did the videos work?]

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas music

  1. Gramma says:

    Ruth, thanks for sharing your music. Yes, the videos worked. Loved it. I would be hard pressed to choose my favorite Christmas song. There are so many I love. Love you too.

    Like

Any thoughts?

