I’m back – and Happy New Year

I’ve been on an unintended blogging hiatus over the holidays. Part of it has been the feeling I have that after a break one should have something meaningful or magnificent to say and I’ve spent the last couple days trying to come up with it. I mean, I have had a very nice Christmas/New Year break and I have loved spending time with my family and sisters-in-law’s families. We’ve eaten good food, played games, gone shopping, watched a lot of football and several good movies, eaten a variety of snacks, laughed till we cried, exchanged gifts, yelled at the dogs, eaten delicious chocolate things, and just hung out.

Somewhere in all this sharing and fellowship, someone shared their cold with me and I spent most of the days between Christmas and New Year’s feeling variations of miserable. Which was another part of the reason for the blogging break. While I was not happy to be using my vacation time being sick (instead of using my sick time – since this is the first job I’ve had with paid sick time), it was nice to be sick when there was someone here to fix the dinner I almost didn’t have the energy to eat on Saturday night. It’s often rough being sick and single. So that was nice. It was also very sweet when my five-year-old niece climbed up on the couch to cuddle with me to help me feel better when I was shivering under two blankets. I’m mostly better now except for a persistent and irritating cough.

While I have taken a few pictures, they haven’t been downloaded from the camera yet. Besides, when I haven’t been sick, I’ve been too busy enjoying myself to take pictures, and I’m too lazy to dig out some to reuse from last year, so this is a word-pictures-only post.

After the New Year’s celebrations quieted down last night, I sat with a pen and a piece of paper, trying to sum up the past year. Multiple pages later (though I did have other things to say, of course) the best I could come up with was:

2013 was quite a year in so many ways
(and I’ll never fit them all here)

I don’t really do “New Year’s resolutions” – I feel like so many of them are unrealistic and setting yourself up for failure. There’s sort of a “New Year’s resolutions never last anyway, so I might as well go ahead and eat that doughnut I said I wouldn’t have” feeling. Of course I have hopes and fears and anticipations and things that might happen (or might not), but I’m not really one for “official resolutions.” 2013 was quite a year – as for 2014, we’ll just have to see. 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m back – and Happy New Year

  1. emilythebear says:

    I’m glad you’re back! Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Aunt Susan says:

    So sorry you were sick, but so happy you had some people to care for you. Love you!

    Like

  3. susan says:

    Glad you had a good Christmas! Hope you are all better.

    Like

  4. Pingback: An Old Year | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

