Thankful Thursday

Sometimes life doesn’t go as planned. (Occasionally it’s more often than “sometimes”!) The weather has been getting in my way this week. The weather people called it an ‘Alberta clipper’, but all I know is that we got 6-8 inches of snow Tuesday and work shut down early and I got to drive home in the mess – yes, you can slide in an All Wheel Drive vehicle, and no, I didn’t hit anything during said sliding (thank you, Lord!). It’s been super cold since then (see point one) and so I’m blaming the fact that  I didn’t post earlier this week on the weather. We may get more snow tonight, though not much.

In spite of the weather, there are things to be thankful for this week. Things like:

  • that even when its thermometer read 5 degrees yesterday morning, my car still started after a breath-catching few seconds of cranking – and then did the same thing at 8 degrees this morning (that’s -15 and -13 for any Celsius readers)
  • snowplow and salt truck drivers – from the big giant plows that do the highways to the little teeny one that does our parking lot, the drivers are awesome. (Even when they drive slow!)
  • DSCN7465_modhow endlessly fascinating snow can be (especially from the safe warmth of behind the windows) – because if it didn’t make such interesting shapes in the wind and sparkle so in the sun or the lamplight, I really wouldn’t like it at all. Which would be miserable, living where I do. (This picture is actually from January 3rd, but the snow looked just like that in the sun yesterday, with the top several inches blowing around and making “snow dunes”, including the one below on my balcony. There is a second balcony above mine, so all that snow blew there.)
  • instant mashed potatoes – even though they’re not as good as homemade, I love how easy they are (and when they go on sale for a dollar a box, I love that too!)
  • my brother and my nephew, who both had birthdays this week – Happy Birthday big S and little S! 🙂

    blown snow piled on balcony

    Snow dune on balcony, 1/22/14

That’s all I’ve got this week, need to head off to a meeting at church. Hope you all have friendlier weather wherever you are! I’d love to hear about it if you have something to be thankful for that you want to share.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. Susan Gossner says:

    Hi Ruth, We had about 3 inches of snow here this morning. Thankfully, a 2 hour delay to go with it, so we didn’t have to drive on the icy roads. By 10 am, the sun was shinning and the roads quickly begin to melt, even though it was still only 17 degrees F. Since it’s so dry here, the snow is so light, and even though it’s cold, it doesn’t feel so bad. I’m so thankful for a warm house, a car that warms quickly, and most of all we are thankful for our S playing beautifully on the piano almost every day.
    Love you lots!
    Aunt Susan G.

    Like

  2. Robin Hourigan says:

    Hi Ruth – I really enjoyed reading this post. The snow IS beautiful! Remind me to tell you sometimes about my specific connection to the name Ruth. ~Robin

    Like

Any thoughts?

