Of Olympics and Other Things

I’ll be honest – I’m a little bit Olympic obsessed, so I’ve been spending more time on the 2014 Winter Olympics than processing pictures for the blog. πŸ™‚ Since I don’t have cable and I’m too far from the big cities for my TV’s rabbit ears to pick up anything but PBS, I’ve been scavenging TV time where I can. Working a different schedule than I was during the last winter Olympics means that I’m reduced to whatever NBC image_nbc_sochi1wants to show me in prime time, which is often many hours behind when it actually happens.Β So don’t tell me anything about who won or what happened until the next day – at least!

I’m not on any social media sites anyway andΒ I’m now studiously avoiding any new-ish sites since one of them gave away the winner of the men’s moguls last night when I hadn’t seen it yet. The suspense is part of the whole experience, even if I know it’s a partly rigged experience since the whole thing is filtered through what someone (or someones) at NBC thought would be worth using up some of their precious prime time on and it’s understandably (but occasionally slightly chaffing) very American-centric, but it’s an experience I enjoy anyway. I’ve actually been taking notes as I watch, since somewhere I have some from the 2010 Vancouver games, and perhaps when they are all over I’ll come back here and distill the best parts so we can all re-live them together.

But for now, here are a couple of pictures from the ice storm last Wednesday to tide you over until I get to some more substantial content. πŸ™‚

icicles on power lines

Iced power lines by apartment, 2/5/14

iced tree branches through window

From the lobby window at work, 2/5/14

We’ve also got a major storm moving into the area Wednesday evening, supposedly running through all day Thursday, so I may or may not be posting any more this week, depending on how much shoveling out I have to do. For tonight, I’m very much looking forward to seeing the men’s snowboarding halfpipe competition that took place earlier today. Shaun White was phenomenal in Vancouver – can he still do it? That’s what I’m looking forward to finding out… πŸ™‚

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Of Olympics and Other Things

  1. Susie says:

    Fun pictures. I’m even more behind on the Olympics . . . as in I know nothing. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to watch to your heart’s content.

    Like

  2. Aunt Susan says:

    Have you noticed the large number of skiers/snow boarders from my area…Lake Tahoe:) It’s fun for us to watch because we actually know some of these people. Glad your enjoying!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thankful Thursday 8-12-16 | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

