Winter Weather Hiatus

The reason I didn’t post last Thursday is because this happened overnight Wednesday and Thursday morning:

16-18 inches of snow, view from apartment

A lot of snow, morning, 2/13/14

It’s a little bit hard to see, since it was very cloudy and didn’t stop snowing for another half hour or so after this picture, but to the left you can see where someone from the building next to mine started shoveling the sidewalk and then gave up. It’s nearly up to the bottom of the bench next to the tree on the right of the picture and drifted a lot higher in places. Pretty much everything was shut down; including the library downtown and the gas station right across the street.

Around 1:30, when it had stopped snowing and they’d brought the snowblower in, it looked like this from the warmth behind my balcony door:

16-18 inches of snow, sidewalks cleared

Still a lot of snow, afternoon, 2/13/14

In between these photos, I went out to clear my car off. Work was closed that day, but I decided it would be better to clear my car in the afternoon than in the dark the next morning. Thanks to the wind and the relatively light snow, there wasn’t actually any snow on top of my car. Instead it had been piled between my car and the ones next to it, up to waist high in some places. I didn’t take any pictures of that because I was busy dealing with it. There is a strange sort of camaraderie that develops between people shoveling out after a major storm like this; I got to meet several of my neighbors who I hadn’t been introduced to before. (I know, for some areas of the country 16-18 inches of snow is “the usual,” but for where I live, it was quite a lot to get at once!)

By noon the next day, it had compacted down a little, but the sun had also come out, which makes for much prettier pictures:

less snow than before, but still a lot, view from the balcony under sunny skies

Snow under sunny skies, 2/14/14

Turns out work was closed that day as well, but I’m still glad I got my car dealt with early. Here you can see the snowblower tooth marks in the snow along the sidewalk:

snow by sidewalk, cleared by snowblower

Snowblower evidence, 2/14/14

So, I think I had a pretty good excuse not to post last week, don’t you? šŸ™‚

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Winter Weather Hiatus

  1. Aunt Susan says:

    I just love your logic….I can actually almost see the gears turning:)

    Like

  2. Gramma says:

    Beautiful pictures Ruth, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | A Road on My Journey

  4. Pingback: Thankful Thursday (delayed) | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

