Thankful Thursday (delayed)

Yes, I know, it isn’t Thursday. But yesterday evening got caught between an unexpected eye doctor appointment and a free massage coupon that was about to expire and there was no time for blogging. The appointment went fine – it was only unexpected because they had a cancellation, so it was not when I thought it might be – even though it was a new doctor for me and it has been such a long time since I went. No new glasses yet, I’m waiting for them to order one set of test frames in a different color so I can make a good choice. (The gentleman offered to do it, I didn’t ask.)

The free half hour massage also went well – the coupon came in the mail with a “welcome to the neighborhood” package back when I moved in August. I saved it because it was good for six months and I know winter is difficult for me, so I wanted to save something special for then. But February sort of got away from me (thanks, in part, to ridiculous snow) and before I knew it my coupon was about to expire. I’ve never had a massage before, so I didn’t want to waste the chance. I’m very glad I didn’t. 🙂

So, with the explaining out of the way, here is what I am thankful for this week:

  • patient eye doctors and assistants – plus, that my eyes aren’t as bad as I was afraid they might be

    sun coming up to blue skies with scattered clouds

    Sunup, 1/16/14

  • travel-sized toothpaste tubes, so I can keep one at my desk for those mornings when teeth-brushing gets squeezed out of the routine
  • that it was sunny and warm enough last Saturday to go for an hour’s walk without a jacket, even if I did wear the wrong socks and give myself a blister
  • new notebooks. There’s just something about that first page and all that potential waiting to happen…
  • that I got to see as much of the Winter Olympics as I did, including the last four days while house-sitting
  • for my massage therapist yesterday, who was kind to someone who didn’t know what she was doing, and also very good at her job (side note: my second favorite part after the massage was the heating pad under the sheet on the table – like a seat warmer for your whole  body! 🙂 )
  • that, even though I’ve had some rough mornings lately, this morning went better… and there is always hope

So, here’s to better vision, gentle hands, and, always, to hope. Did you have any of these things in your week?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday (delayed)

  1. Kara Brown says:

    I’m thankful for turning in papers and being done with them and for rain and for $5 shirts at Walmart 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Rough Morning – brought to you by SAD | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

