Thankful Thursday

I keep trying to think of better ways to start these posts than “well, this week…” but this is as good as I can get this time. 🙂 I mentioned in this post about my SAD that I was in the process of getting some help, which I did. I went to see my new counselor for the first time this past Monday (I went to a Christian counselor for a while after I was first diagnosed in 2010, so this is not new.) It went well, so that is good. Now the hard work of straightening things out begins – because, as she said “It is easier to deregulate than it is to regulate.” But I know hard work is good for me sometimes.

In other news, the weather here has gone from 60’s but cloudy Monday to 20’s and brightly sunny today and supposedly back again this weekend. I guess that’s just March in the northern hemisphere for you. Daylight Savings threw me for a loop last weekend – it is nice that it is now light later in the day, but it had just started to be light when I needed to get up and now I am back to getting up in the dark. Which I dislike. Oh well, I can’t control either the weather or Daylight Savings, so I’ll try not to complain.

This week I am thankful for:

  • not getting lost on my way to my first counseling appointment (it’s always a possibility when going new places)
  • clean, dry towels

    light green new leaves on philodendron

    New philodendron leaves, 3/13/14

  • little baby leaves on the philodendron in my cube (pictured) – not only does it make me feel like Spring is coming, even if there aren’t any new leaves outside yet, but it also lets me know that I didn’t damage it permanently when I repotted it a few months back (it didn’t put out any new leaves for a long time; I think it was in shock)
  • that no trees or limbs fell on my car during the night – this was a possibility, given that I park next to some trees and we had 30 mile an hour winds with gusts up to 45 (50-75 kph) following the thunderstorms that came through yesterday
  • my new black tall boots that I found on clearance on Sunday afternoon, that were discounted on top of the clearance so I got them more than half off (and I paid for them with house-sitting money, so they didn’t even come out of my paycheck!) – I’ve wanted some boots for a long time, but between the usually crazy prices and the list of things I wanted and didn’t want, it took me a while to find some 🙂
  • that I was able to find what I needed for a costume at Goodwill for less than four dollars, in less than half an hour of looking
  • that I have a mother who is resourceful and creative and taught me to be too, because what I found isn’t what I was originally looking for, but I’m pretty sure some scissors and a few stitches will make it perfect 🙂

Speaking of scissors and stitches, I need to get back to that, since I need the costume for a party this weekend and I have other things to do tonight as well. Thanks for reading my little corner of the internet – feel free to add your own thankful things to it!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. John Gossner says:

    AR and I are thankful for you being part of our world.

    Like

  2. John Gossner says:

    From aunt Robbie: keep putting one foot in front of the other and keep trucking along. All my love, sweet niece.

    Like

  3. Mandy says:

    I’m thankful for a cute baby who’s not quite yet mobile (it’s nice knowing I can set him down and he’ll still be there when I get back!), although he’s working on it!

    I’m also thankful for warm weather and little green onion shoots in my tiny garden – wish you lived close enough to help me plan and plant a bigger one!

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Babies are always good to be thankful for (especially when they are staying put when you need them to!) Growing things are good too, even if I don’t like onions. 🙂 Thanks for adding to my list this week!

      Like

  4. Susie says:

    Yay for fun costumes! 🙂 And new leaves. I got home this week after a month away and found one of my tomato plants survived and has four green tomatoes on it! Happy dance time!

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Hooray for plants surviving! 🙂 I don’t like to eat raw tomatoes, but they sure are fun to grow – I’m glad one of yours made it. Thanks for adding your thankfulness to mine this week! 🙂

      Like

  5. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

