Random Factoids 2

A hundred and ninety-seven miles into the current tank of gas on the way in to work today, my car’s odometer changed over from 199,999 to

200,000 miles.

😮
I watched it. It’s a digital odometer, so it wasn’t quite as impressive as the old ones where you could watch the actual numbers turning on their little black and white wheels, but still. Two hundred thousand. The last time my odometer had a fun number, 188,888, back in mid-August last year, I noted that if each mile were an ounce, it would weigh the same as a large male Asian elephant. If that theoretical elephant’s weight was still attached to my odometer, he’d have gained nearly 700 pounds.

Plus, if every mile were a square kilometer, it would be almost the size of Nebraska. I know, what does Nebraska have to do with anything? I did tell you this was a random factoids post… 🙂

Also, while we’re going with Random: this song is currently making me tap my feet and grin, thanks to Pandora. 🙂 (Couldn’t find it on YouTube, sorry.) I do like upbeat Celtic instrumental music.

That’s enough factoids for now, I think. 200,000 feels like such a milestone I just wanted to share. I told my car that I should take him in for a spa treatment or a car wash or something to celebrate…

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Factoids 2

  1. Aunt Susan says:

    Those were wonderful random facts…and what a nice milestone for you and your car. Yes, please take it in for a car wash. And just remember, in a study of 200,000 ostriches over a period of 80 years, no one reported a single case where an ostrich buried its head in the sand and it is physically impossible for pigs to look up into the sky.
    Have a lovely evening my dear!

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Ha, that’s a great random fact about the ostriches! I knew that they don’t actually do that, but it’s amusing that it took 200,000 of them and 80 years to really make sure. 🙂

      Like

  2. Aunt Rachel says:

    I enjoy random factoids. Did you know that all polar bears are left-handed? 😎

    Like

  3. Our car just hit 200,000 miles last weekend! Hooray for durable engines. 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts?

