Thankful Thursday

I did get this started last Thursday, but then I never got it posted. So I am combining this past week and two weeks ago. I drove north to visit my brothers and sisters-in-law and niece and nephew for Easter weekend, which I very much enjoyed. I also got a kick out of stopping by the movie theater I used to go to all the time when I lived in that area on Monday afternoon. I watched the new Captain America: The Winter Soldier, which I thoroughly enjoyed. (It’s rather obviously a Marvel Comics franchise film, but if you like any of the other ones, you should like this one. Plus, Chris Evans is fabulous. 😉 )

The weather has been swinging up and down, fairly typical of Spring in this part of the world. We had a string of nearly 80 degree days two weeks ago and then overnight the 14th and the 15th we had freeze warnings and ice pellets (no actual snow where I was, thankfully) and highs in the mid-forties. 😛 Thankfully the temperatures went back up again and Easter Sunday itself was quite nice. The past two days have been sunny, but only sort of warm. But hey, I’ll take it. 🙂

These two weeks I am thankful for:

  • that after the heart-thumping moment when I thought I’d locked myself out of where I was house-sitting last week when taking the dog out, I found out the back door wasn’t actually locked *whew!* 🙂

    A flowerbed full of blooming yellow daffodils

    Daffodils behind office, 4/14/14

  • a good-night kiss and hug from my four-year-old nephew when I was visiting
  • being able to be helpful when my sister-in-law needed a hand with the unpacking
  • getting to hold and play with my other brother and sister-in-law’s three week old puppies. So soft and cute!
  • safe driving all the way there and back, even if I did have to turn around a couple of times…
  • how much it made me grin last weekend to visit some of the places I used to go often, even though some things have changed in the nearly two years since I moved
  • an Easter package with goodies and handmade crocheted eggs from my mom – thanks Mom!
  • that even with the traveling and the food and the visiting and all the other things that can get distracting, we were still able to take the time to celebrate the wonderful thing Christ did for us when he paid for our sins on the cross and then rose again to bring us everlasting life – that’s the biggest thing to be thankful for!

So there you have it – a little catch up on what I’ve been doing, a little peek into some of the things that make me happy, and a little Easter-flavored thankfulness. Here’s to miniature good-night hugs, soft puppies, sunny daffodils, safe roads, and Happy Easters. Did your week have any of those things? Or anything else you’d like to add to my list?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. mithriluna says:

    So lovely. We can always find something to be grateful for. I am convinced that being grateful even for just one thing has saved my life many times.

    Like

  2. susan says:

    We actually had beautiful weather on Easter Sunday! The kids got to hunt for eggs in the forest. (We hid the plastic ones with candy in them the day before.). Our church had a huge potluck, with about 100 people attending. We have grown so much in just one year. Praise God!

    Like

Any thoughts?

