Remember Memorial Day

I first saw this picture ten or eleven months ago and the grief it captures has stuck with me ever since.

Memorial-day-not-for-bbq

(This isn’t where I first saw it, but I found the above one here.)

I don’t know what is going on for this young woman, I don’t know if her knees wouldn’t hold her any more, or if she wanted to be as close as she could to what remained of him, or if she just got tired of crying standing up. But I know the first time I saw it, what we see here of her pain brought tears to my eyes and it still does.

By all means, enjoy your day off, if you get one – I certainly will – have some great food and spend some time with friends or family if you can, but just take a moment to remember what the holiday is also for.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember Memorial Day

  1. Gramma says:

    Thank you Ruth for sharing. Sometimes a picture really does say more than words.

    Like

Any thoughts?

