Thankful Thursday 5-29-14

I had a good weekend, Memorial Day weekend.  Went with some friends to Harper’s Ferry, where I had never been before, and enjoyed seeing things and walking around in the sunshine and eating chocolate ice cream. Then some of us went that night to see the new X-Men movie, Days of Future Past, which is a pretty good franchise installment, but, since it involves time travel, is also mind-bendy.  The rest of the weekend I took it pretty easy, spent a lot of time reading books – over the course of my birthday week I got nine new books (only one was not-previously-owned, but I’m good with that), so I had some interesting reading material. 🙂

water trickling over rocks in dappled shade

Harper’s Ferry 5/24/14

In no particular order, I am thankful this week for:

  • candles
  • new toothbrushes (why isn’t it teethbrush anyway?)
  • that really clean feeling you get the first time you use one 🙂
  • friends who send you a beautiful e-card for your birthday even though you never thanked them for the Easter e-card, but you really meant to
  • gorgeous weather for the long weekend
  • sitting out on the balcony reading in the sun on a lazy afternoon off
  • finding the claymation classic Chicken Run for $5 at the grocery store 🙂

That’s it for this week’s list. Do you have any slightly cheesy animated/claymation movies you’re a fan of? Did you do anything to be thankful for this weekend? You can add whatever you would like to my thankful list.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thankful Thursday 5-29-14

  1. egghill says:

    I love Harper’s Ferry. One of my favorite things to do was to sit on the rocks in the water and watch the river flow by. So peaceful (unless it’s flood stage)! Thankful that I’ve regained my health after a very stressful six months.

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      We’ve had a fair amount of rain, so the water was a bit high. We did see a couple groups of rafters, that looked like fun! I did wade in a bit, but the water was rather cold. My friends’ dog didn’t seem to mind, though.
      That is good that your health is returning – thank you for adding it to my list.

      Like

  2. Mom VanDoren says:

    Thankful in no particular order
    -frozen raspberries crumbled on my cereal, with fresh milk with the cream still in it
    -fun customers and busy lunches with lots of smiles and good smells
    -family
    -planes that bring people home safely when they have been away
    -toothy baby smiles
    -phones to close distance-gaps
    – 🙂

    Like

  3. Gramma says:

    So thankful for praying family and friends. And for doctors and nurses who do their work, whatever it may be, with kindness and efficiency. God is good at putting good people in my path. And mostly I am thankful for Him.

    Like

Any thoughts?

