Fortune cookies – repost

I do have a couple of photo posts and a writing post in the works, but it has been quite busy at work the last two weeks and I haven’t been sleeping well, so for now here is another repost from my old blog.

In the cafeteria at my college, they always had a salad/wrap bar, a hot pizza plate, and cereal. Then the other sections would rotate through entrees and various “ethnic” foods. One that came around regularly was the Asian section, which had fortune cookies (as well as scrumptious food – I really did enjoy the cafeteria food at college. Plus, not having to cook or wash dishes? Even better!) I’d usually take a fortune cookie any time they were available, even if it didn’t match what I was having to eat. After a while, I started saving the ones I liked and adding them to blog posts on occasion. I’m pretty sure I still have the little dental-rubber-band bag half full of paper slips somewhere.

The following was originally posted April 25, 2007, as I was pushing through the last grind before graduation. It made me think – and smile at a younger self with a multitude of things sticky-tacked to white dorm walls…

~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~

from about a week or so ago:

Catch on fire with enthusiasm and people will come for miles to watch you burn.

Think about that. Then I got another one at lunch today that was rather profound:

No problem leaves you where you found it.

They are now stuck to my wall (along with ‘Don’t panic’ and ‘Prosperity belongs to those who can learn new things the fastest’ my other fortune cookie papers.)

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?

