Thankful Thursday 6-12-14

Another week has slipped by, composed, as they all are, of moments big and small. Moments like laughing with the other women fans at the softball game on Friday evening – it was good to have the weather to play two weeks in a row for the first time this season, but unfortunately our team lost. Moments of awe at the lightning on my way home yesterday, and then again at the torrential rain this afternoon. Moments of discontent as I struggle to decide what’s for dinner when I really don’t want to cook in the heat and humidity. Moments like laughing as I found myself randomly humming “Little Bunny Foo Foo” in the attemptΒ to fall asleep the other night. Lots of moments – big, small, funny, strange, boring, and exciting, my week has covered the whole range.

In among those moments are things to be thankful for. Things like:

  • having a few more fans that usual at the game last Friday, including one adorable little 3 1/2 year-old boy who was wearing his adopted uncle out with “races” up and down the fence line πŸ™‚
  • Chex Mix – I’ve said it before, and I’ll undoubtedly say it again, I’m a sucker for salty, crunchy, savory things

    rain droplets on glass

    Rain on glass door, 5/15/14

  • interesting free books being given away at work – one of the departments often gets unsolicited advance copies in the hope of a positive review, so periodically they dump them in the cafe for anyone who wants to pick through them. I’m most likely never going to read all the ones I’ve picked up over the months, since they’re mostly non-fiction and I keep them at work where I don’t do most of my reading, but they are still interesting and it’s not like they cost me anything. πŸ™‚
  • that I can laugh at myself when the occasion calls for it πŸ™‚
  • the multiple opportunities this week to pray for and with people
  • my brother and sister-in-law celebrating their tenth wedding anniversary this week – congrats J & L! I’m so thankful to have as many examples of good marriages in my family as I do.

I hope your week contained some wonderful moments along with the mundane ones. I’d love to hear it if you’re thankful for any of them. πŸ™‚

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thankful Thursday 6-12-14

  1. egghill says:

    I am thankful for my sweet grandchildren and being close by instead of 2600 miles away where my home is. Also, I love Chex Mix too. It’s my traveling food during long drives and there is a lot of driving in California!

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Yes, Chex Mix is good for driving – I also like sunflower seeds when driving, you just have to remember to bring something to put the shells in. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m thankful for corn on the cob…other things too, but we had some with our dinner last night and it was soooo good!

    Also, Chex mix reminds me of watching Pride & Prejudice with you and Susie. I don’t know why my brain has that association, but it does.

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Probably because of that giant three pound bag of it the three of us polished off on that Easter vacation the one year. I don’t remember if it was Pride & Prejudice or one of the other ones we were watching…

      Like

  3. Gramma says:

    Thankful for Triple A getting me on my way this morning. πŸ™‚ Also for people willing to work things out for me when I miss my on machine time. And especially I am thankful for my Dixie girl who greets me happily whenever I return home.

    Like

Any thoughts?

