Thankful Thursday 7-3-14

I’m scheduling this post ahead, because I plan to be busy hanging out with family at my usual “press time.” 🙂 The softball team I watch on Fridays got to play last week (not this week, because of the holiday) and we won one game and lost one. We had a couple of spectacular plays, which are always fun to watch.

I went with friends on Saturday to see the new Transformers movie – I haven’t seen the third one, but supposedly this fourth one is better. I thought it was a pretty standard franchise installment – it was what I was expecting, good fun, lots of explosions and giant robot battles, but not fabulous – so if you’re a fan, you’d probably enjoy it. Then, after I got home, I noticed a yard sale sign a couple houses down my street. So I stopped by and it turned out everything that was left was free; they were moving and tired of trying to deal with it. So I got an awesome folding three-shelf bookcase and some taper candles for free. 🙂 Can’t beat that!

Along with free bookshelves, here are some other things I’m thankful for this week:

  • DSCN6195-K500

    Fireworks, 7/4/13

    the two steep-sided turquoise swirl ceramic bowls I bought myself at the dollar store for my birthday – because they are beautiful and useful and they make me smile every time I use them

  • cereal for dinner
  • plastic spoons, so I don’t have to wash them 🙂
  • new-to-me music – thanks for the birthday giftcard D & E, I finally used it! (Among other things, I bought the Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End soundtrack, which I’ve been wanting for years.)
  • that I wasn’t as tired the next day as I thought I might be, given that my brain was up playing crazy chains hopscotch for several hours after I tried to go to bed Wednesday night 😛
  • crossing things off my to-do list, it’s so satisfying

Rather a random list this time, but that’s how things go sometimes. Do you have any random, or not-so-random, things you are thankful for? You can add them in the comments, if you want!

p.s. Happy Fourth of July (to the Americans) and all that! 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?

