Thankful Thursday 8-7-14

Thursday has come yet again and, even though I didn’t write here earlier this week as I had been intending, I did get the laundry done last night, so that’s something at least. The end-of-season church-league softball tournament is this weekend, so I’m looking forward to that, and hoping we have good weather. I will be sad not to have the games and company to enjoy on Friday nights, but the tournaments are always fun. This’ll be the end of my third season as faithful spectator. 🙂

In no particular order, here are a half-dozen of the things I’m thankful for this week:

  • that I didn’t get rained on yesterday – it started raining less than five minutes after I got in the car, both getting in to go to work and again to go home

    Front view of a yellow daylily

    Yellow daylily, 6/15/11

  •  that it is not always as crazy at work as it is this month – we’re rolling out a new online Learning Management System (LMS) and a new Talent Development/Personnel management system that is linked with the LMS, in a week we’re acting as a host site (one of hundreds) for a nationally simulcast leadership conference which my department is part of the team to facilitate, and the department is moving offices from the first floor up to the third floor of our building by September 1st. Whew! I’ll be glad when August is over…
  • all the wonderful, patient, long-suffering, persistent people I work with
  • the wellness program we have at work where they’ll pay you a dollar for every documented half hour of exercise (with a 30 per month cap, but that hasn’t been a problem for me so far…) ’cause it’s decent motivation
  • that I can do a half an hour or forty-five minutes walking at a good clip on the treadmill without feeling like I’m going to die, even though it’s been a very long time since I last went for a run
  • that the package I ordered for my niece’s birthday got there before her actual birthday, even if I am sad I can’t go to her party this weekend – happy birthday E! 🙂

And that’s it for this week. I had a flash in my head just now of Porky Pig saying “Th-th-that’s all folks!” even though I haven’t watched Looney Tunes in so long… we used to have them on VHS back in the day, since we didn’t get TV… wow, side-tracked by memory lane. 🙂 I’ve got nothing snappy for a wrap-up this time, so I think I’ll just leave it at that. Anything you’re thankful for this week you’d like to add?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursday 8-7-14

  1. Gramma says:

    So thankful at this moment, that Michael Clark is on the road to recovery. Once again. God is good.

    Like

Any thoughts?

