Thankful Thursday 8-28-14

August is winding down, thankfully, though I’m not looking forward to summer doing the same. It’s been a busy week (evidenced by my not posting since last Thursday) but now it is almost over, almost time for a long holiday weekend, at least here in the States. I may or may not go for a hike, but I’m not planning to go anywhere other than that, or do anything elaborate beside recuperate a bit. I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

There are a multitude of things that I am thankful for this week, including:

  • having survived moving cubes at work yesterday
  • the wonderful facilities team, who not only helped move the entire department, but also very kindly rearranged the desk in my new cube so now I face out, towards where I have a shorter wall, and thus can see better
  • that, having bought new heads for my razor and then using one of them, I did not slice myself to ribbons the other night – I’m always a little nervous the first time using a new razor

    Pink and white asiatic lilies

    Lilies, 7/17/11

  • the co-worker friend who kindly invited me to her house last Saturday evening for the season premier of Doctor Who, with the newest Doctor – and also provided scrumptious things to eat and drink (For those who don’t know, it is a British science fiction TV show that has been around for fifty years. The main character,  the Doctor, travels back and forth through time and space having adventures and saving the world, and, because he is a Time Lord, he can regenerate after a fatal injury – thus allowing the series to continue with different actors playing the lead. The premier on Saturday introduced the 12th Doctor, played by Peter Capaldi. This was actually the first full episode I’d ever watched, but my library has the DVDs and I plan to start catching up. 🙂 )
  • the friendly, kind librarian who was very helpful when all of the hardcopies of a book in the whole county library system had worn out or been lost and were replaced with electronic versions but this poor library patron doesn’t have (or currently want) an e-reader and the library doesn’t loan them  (we wound up inter-library-loaning it)
  • how amazing that first bite of a hot fresh pizza tastes
  • leftover pizza for an easy lunch the next day (don’t worry, I had a tangerine and some carrots with it) 🙂

I know, seven isn’t “a multitude,” but I have to stop somewhere. 🙂 I hope that your August has gone well – and that the remaining three days do too – and that you have something to look forward to this weekend, holiday or no. Do you have anything you’re thankful for this week that you’d like to add to my list?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursday 8-28-14

  1. Gramma says:

    Thankful for an extra day off from dialysis and company coming for the weekend. God blesses me richly!

    Like

Any thoughts?

