Thankful Thursday 10-2-14

October has started and Fall is thinking about getting a little more serious in my corner of the country. Not too serious, though, because today was a beautiful, sunny 77 degree (25 C) day. I’ll take it. đŸ™‚

Over the last two nights I’ve gotten some dishes done (not all, but more than half), swept the hard floors, and taken the trash out, along with cooking dinner both nights. The rest of my apartment could still use some attention and the laundry needs done (again…), but I’m feeling somewhat accomplished anyway. Some days it’s the small things. đŸ™‚

My brain is kind of on random mode today, so instead of inflicting too much on you, I’ll just start on my things to be thankful for list. Things like:

  • how delicious something as simple as a Sprite and rainbow sherbet float is đŸ™‚

    Tree changing from green through yellow to red against blue sky

    Tree changing colors, Fall 2011

  • the fun of meeting a fellow Whovian at the library desk when I needed help interlibrary loaning the next installment (I’ve finished series 4 and am waiting for the specials that aired between 4 and 5)
  • that I found constructive things to do this afternoon even though our internet at work was down because of a fiber optic cable being cut by a construction crew – for the second time in a month
  • that, even though it’s an inconvenience now, the roads will be less-potholed after the construction crews are gone
  • having successfully completed my second (ever) performance review at work
  • that the nice lady in IT ordered new cables, so now my headset works correctly with the new phone system so I can go handsfree for conference calls

So there’s a fairly random collection for you (although, is it ever not random?). I hope you’ve had some fun things and some delicious things and some “it’s nice it’s working” things in your week. Would you like you share any of them? I’d love to hear them!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 10-2-14

  1. Aunt Susan says:

    Thank you for yet another Thankful Thursday – you always brighten my day. Now for the comments. As far as random, I don’t really think anything is random. And as far as being thankful things are working? You bet! I am so thankful that your Uncle Michael is healthy enough to return to work after five long months of recuperating. And thankful that I have a wonderful niece that reminds me on a weekly basis that I should be thankful for lots of things. Love you!

    Like

  2. mandyinpng says:

    I’m thankful for a soon-to-be-working-well car, after my wonderful dad fixes it tonight. I’m also thankful that my slightly-ill car didn’t die on our travels home from SC earlier this week! And I’m thankful for a mechanic friend who replaced brakes and a wheel bearing before my trip last week, since Steve isn’t around to do it, and wouldn’t accept any payment. Yup, it’s all about the car this week! đŸ™‚

    Like

Any thoughts?

