Thankful Thursday 12-4-14

December has started already. We’ve had a wide range of temperatures and weather so far, from freezing rain to sixty degrees (15 C) but no real snow, which I’m alright with. It makes it interesting trying to decide what to wear some days, but layers are good.

My friend M P sent me a Jacquie Lawson digital advent calendar, which I’ve been enjoying for the last four days. There is an animated Christmas Market, where you click on the numbered Christmas ornament to see your animation for the day (about things likeย The Nutcracker or tobogganing), and a “family room” with a fireplace, sofa, Christmas tree, etc. There is also a coffee table with games on it, which you can click to play. One of them is a custom snowflake creator. It’s a circle with dots radiating out along six axes (axises?) and as you draw on one of them, the program replicates your movement along the others. Then you can save the picture if you want (your custom snowflakes also appear in the animation in the market.) I’ve had great fun experimenting with it. Here are a couple of my favorites so far:fern-like snowflake on green background

This week I am thankful for:

  • friends who send thoughtful giftsnon-traditional snowflake on blue background
  • the people who figured out the coding to make that little program do what it does so I can make things like these snowflakes in far fewer strokes than you’d think
  • the fun of creating something as simple as a snowflake, whether digitally or the old fashioned paper-and-scissors way (and yes, I still do that, and have kept a couple of my favorites to use again)
  • candles that can multitask by giving light and smelling great at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚
  • crushed red pepper flakes to add a little pizzazz to my pizza
  • the company paying for said pizza, since my department went out to lunch to celebrate the 15 year service anniversary of one of my co-workers (and that I have a department that does things like that and laughs a lot while doing it)

Have you had any snowflakes this week, from the sky or handmade? Do you enjoy making the paper-and-scissors kind? What about red pepper flakes on your pizza? ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to share in the comments!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday 12-4-14

  1. k says:

    Oh man. I haven’t made a paper snowflake in so long! I love your snowflakes =)
    This week I’m thankful for torrential rain
    And a few minutes break in the storm. Just long enough for the sun to peek out for a minute and there be be a beautiful double rainbow, and then it clouded over again and the rain resumed. I was at school at the time and there were little huddles of people all over stopping to look at the rainbow and remark about how beautiful it was.
    I’m also thankful that I’m almost done with school ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Kara Brown says:

    Sorry. A little quick in the “enter” button there! Didn’t mean to be anonymous! That’s me^ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Susan Gossner says:

    We are enjoying a sunny, warm day today. The last couple of days were overcast, so the sun is so great!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Thankful Thursday 12-18-14 | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

