Thankful Thursday 12-18-14

Bit of a rough week this week with sleep issues. I got off balance somewhere around Thanksgiving, I think, and the last three weeks have been a bit like that staggering you do after you trip – still on your feet, but not balanced and not very pretty. I’ve either been unable to sleep (to the point of near-ridiculousness some nights, like three or four a.m.) or exhausted and falling asleep early while trying to eat dinner or over sleeping like I did on Sunday or some strange combination of the above. It doesn’t help that this is the darkest stretch of the year in the northern hemisphere, until the days begin to slowly get longer again after the solstice on December 22nd.

There are things I can do to help, and I’ve been trying some of them, but inconsistently and with predictably inconsistent results. It doesn’t help that a sleep cycle can be such a complex thing, affected by so many factors, some of which are out of my control. And it doesn’t help that being tired can result in less-than-wise decisions, which can then affect a number of those influencing factors. *sigh*

But, and this is important, there are still things to be thankful for. Things like:

  • the delicious and gooey mint chocolate brownie that a co-worker from another department was giving away on a long Monday afternoon because she “didn’t want to take them home”

    hexagonal snowflake filled with triangles

    my newest snowflake creation

  • coming away from the department White Elephant Christmas party with something decent (you just never know what might be in those bags…)
  • doughnuts with sprinkles (though I shouldn’t have had that second one…)
  • the card game Freecell, because it stretches my brain a bit while being fun
  • hot apple cider
  • that even though it will be cold and dreary for a while yet in my part of the world, longer, brighter days are indeed coming

And that’s where I’m going to leave it this week. I’m pretty sure there are a few of you readers who can sympathize with my sleep issues and for that I thank you (and more than a few of you who don’t struggle with sleep, which is a thing to be thankful for). It does help to not feel alone. Whether you struggle with it or not, have you had any good sleep this week? Any good doughnuts or brownies? 🙂 You can add anything you’re thankful for, edible, restful, or not, to my list.

[See here for more on the snowflake.]

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 12-18-14

  1. Susie says:

    Sleep — boy, do I hear you on that issue. My sleep cycle messed up about three weeks ago too. For absolutely no reason whatsoever. My body does not handle the nights when I’m awake until 4ish and need to be up before 7 like it used to. Praying for you, friend!

    Love the snowflake. Did you know that absolutely all snowflakes have the same mirror symmetry. Learned that in inorganic chemistry class. 🙂 God is such an amazing creator!

    Like

  2. Robin Hourigan says:

    Hi Ruth – this is the second year in a row where I have noticed sleep issues for me surrounding Christmas. Probably I just can’t remember and it’s happened every year. I feel super tired during the day, but don’t nap, and then still have some trouble falling asleep. Then I wake up at something like 4 am, and my brain kicks in, thinking of all I need to do (shopping, wrapping, cleaning, baking, etc) so that I can’t fall back asleep! Anyway, I seem much better now that Christmas has passed, and getting normal sleep again!
    Donuts – oh dear, shouldn’t have eaten those . . . But I did!

    Like

Any thoughts?

