Thankful Thursday – Christmas 2014

It was great that Christmas fell on a Thursday this year, and I actually did start this list early, thinking about posting that day or maybe the day after. Obviously that didn’t happen. 🙂 I was somewhat otherwise occupied, and I assume most of you have been as well. Christmas is a great time to be thankful for things and there are a lot of things to be thankful for. This may be a bit longer than usual. 🙂

In no particular order (and I’m sure there are some I’m missing), I am thankful for:

  • corporate gift baskets – where I work we receive these from a number of people for a number of reasons (vendors, service providers, etc.) and they are generally set out somewhere for everyone to share. Gift baskets can have some yummy – and some odd – things in them.
  • finding some leftover bubble wrap from a shipping box someone was getting rid of, which allowed me to turn my regular envelope into a padded envelope, thus better protecting its cargo, and also saving me money 🙂
  • getting my renewed passport in two weeks flat. The website said 4-6 weeks, since I didn’t pay for it to be expedited, and I thought it might be even longer than that due to the holidays. Then I checked on its progress and found it was “in the final stage” already, which was exciting, but then I worried that it would be delivered while I was away for Christmas. Then I checked my mail on Saturday the 20th and it had arrived already! Then I realized it had been exactly two weeks from when I mailed the application and sat there with my mouth open. Thank you Lord!

    From Christmas 2014

    From Christmas 2014

  • the safe arrival of my newest niece K 😀 She is tiny but healthy and mom and baby are both doing well.
  • getting to meet K when she was less than a week old and hold her teeny little curled up self, all warm and snug in the purple sleeper my mom crocheted for her
  • pianos. We had a 90+ year-old upright one at home in my teenage years and I enjoyed teaching myself to play after a fashion (the waiting list for the piano teacher was very long.) My friend M plays piano much better than I do and I have very fond memories of singing with her as she played in their living room – in at least three houses across two countries. And the Sunday before last, after I’d finished watering the plants at church, I sat down at the piano in the sanctuary (since everyone had gone) and thoroughly enjoyed myself picking out a couple of Christmas carols from memory, not having the music.
  • picture book pages colored for me by my nephew – and since he’s in preschool, he can write his own name on them now 🙂
  • getting to hold and play with my six month old niece C – whose top teeth are coming in and so she is drooling like a faucet and doesn’t mind sharing it… but when she smiles at me with those two little bottom teeth peeking out, it’s so worth the damp 🙂
  • having the chance to both enjoy some delicious food that I didn’t have to cook and to be a help in the kitchen
  • getting to play with Lincoln Logs and Legos and marble race track things while helping to keep my rambunctious nephew entertained

Okay, speaking of helping in the kitchen, I am needed, so I’ll stop there. I hope your Christmas was wonderful, whatever it included for you, and that your New Years celebration will be as well. Feel free to add anything you are thankful for to my list!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursday – Christmas 2014

  1. Gramma says:

    Feeling so thankful for our God and the family and friends He has blessed me with. Christmas is such a wonderful time for reflecting and being thankful. Also thankful for my granddaughter who lets me read and post on her site. Love you!

    Like

Any thoughts?

