Thankful Thursday 1-29-15

When I pull up to the stoplight, the sleet against my windshield sounds like a hundred tiny mice tap dancing madly on a glass-topped coffee table. Each one moves to his own music, though, so the beats never sync up. In the picture in my head, the table top is crowded and every once in a while one gets elbowed off the edge with a little squeal. He rights himself and swarms back up the table leg, muttering mousey imprecations under his whiskers, to shoulder his way back into the dance … Ah, the things my mind does when it’s bored … that was on the drive home Friday evening. Thankfully I made it before the roads got too bad.

I know I talk about the weather a lot, but when it affects what you wear (or don’t wear) every day, how your drive to work goes (or doesn’t, as it were), whether your emotional equilibrium is easy to maintain (or not), and, this time of year, whether work is even open, it is something you think about a lot. It even affects what I have for lunch, since I can’t just chuck a can of soup in a bag and call it making lunch in the heat of summer. We’ve had more “winter weather” in the past week than I think we had in the three weeks before that put together. Thankfully there have been enough warm-ish hours in between the storms to mostly melt off what accumulation we’ve gotten, so it’s not stacking up yet.

Other things I am thankful for this week are:

  • tire tracks to follow in the snow

    small multistem white daffodils with yellow centers

    Daffodils, Garvan Gardens, Arkansas
    3/6/13

  • some meat and cheese and crackers leftover from a party when I really needed something to balance my blood sugar
  • pictures of flowers from springs past (like this one, which I actually have printed and hung in my cube) that help me remember that the warmth will come again
  • snow plow drivers – I know I mentioned them last year and I try not to double up too much, but they deserve another mention
  • snow hats – knit caps, beanies, stocking caps, ski hats, whatever-you-call-thems – they are bad for my hair, but good for keeping my ears from hurting when it’s below freezing and I have to clean the snow off the car because I park in a lot instead of a garage
  • internet help for synonyms when my brain can’t find them 🙂

How’s the weather been this week where you are? Do you think about it as much as I do? 🙂 What do you call that knitted thing you wear on your head when it’s really cold outside? The comment box is always open.

Oh, p.s. Happy National Puzzle Day – didn’t know that did you? 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.