Thankful Thursday 2-19-15

I am not thankful for the cold. Maybe I should be, because I know it’s part of the necessary cycle of the seasons, and I know there are places in Alaska and Siberia and the South Pole that are colder than where I live, but I’m not. We haven’t been above 40 (4 C) for a week. Last night by the time I got done adding blankets so I was warm enough to sleep I had a half dozen. This morning it was 8 degrees (-13 C) when I went to start my car (praise the Lord it started!) and stayed in the single digits most of the way to work. I am so very ready for warmer weather. Even less achingly cold weather would be nice.

Nonetheless, there are things to be thankful for. Things such as:

sunlight between bare trees over snow

Sunlight over snow, Maine, 12/24/11

  • that we all got stopped in time and were safe when the car in front of me did not go through the yellow light like I and the car behind me thought it would last week
  • making it home safe through the snow storm Monday night
  • that the nerves in my fingers are working like they should be – I know this because they hurt in the cold when it’s this bad
  • that refried beans are yummy and filling and cheap – I like to add garlic, lime, red peppers, and cheese to mine and eat them with thick yellow chips
  • Valentina hot sauce – I started eating it when I studied in Mexico  years ago and just bought a new bottle last month. Wonderful flavor, so yummy with the beans 🙂
  • something dry to blow my nose on when it runs in the cold – a tissue, a hankie, a napkin, a sleeve

What about you, have you ever had Valentina? What did you think of it? What do you like to put in your refried beans, if you eat them? Do you have anything you are thankful for this week? Those of you in the cold parts of the world, stay warm! As for the rest of you…

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 2-19-15

  1. Oo, that refried beans recipe sounds good! I’ll have to try it some time.

    Like

  2. Kara Brown says:

    I like to layer my refried beans with rice and cheese and sometimes a little sour cream and eat it with chips. Sometimes I add in leftover taco meat. I love refried beans too =)

    Like

Any thoughts?

