Thankful Thursday 2-26-15

My brain has a million things swirling around in it right now (hopefully more on that later) and so I’m a bit scattered. We got a significant snowstorm on Saturday (8-10 inches, 20-25 cm) and just this morning got another inch or so on top of the snow that was left. It actually made the drive to workย very pretty, since it covered up all the places the old snow had gotten dirty and smoothed over the edges where it had started to get jagged from melting. Thankfully the horrible cold from last week has eased a bit, we’ve actually been over freezing four days this week.

There are more things to be thankful for besides a tiny bit warmer weather, too. Things like:

bars of shadow from railing on snow

Railing shadow patterns on snow
2/17/15

  • a nice scale to borrow when I needed to weigh something
  • checking things off my to-do list
  • coming home to dinner cooking (my parents are visiting again ๐Ÿ™‚ )
  • at work finally figuring out what had caused the error for the user who reported “something happened and it won’t let me…” (I’m part of the support team for our Learning Management System or LMS)
  • trying a new Thai dish the other night and enjoying it – I had beef kaprow; sometimes you just never know with new food, but I liked this one
  • how much the video my dad took of my niece C learning how to crawl makes me grin
  • laughing at the story of my adopted nephew E being so bundled up in the snow he couldn’t get back up again without help ๐Ÿ™‚

So here’s to small adorable people, yummy food I didn’t have to cook, and getting things figured out. Have you had any new-to-you food this week? Did you like it? Do you have any littles in your life learning how to crawl, or how to walk in the snow? ๐Ÿ™‚ Please do share if you would like to!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday 2-26-15

  1. I had jambolaya (sp?) for the first time this week. It was good – and one of the best things about it was that it wasn’t me who cooked it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      I think it’s spelled jambalaya, all “a”s. I’ve had it, but I much prefer the chicken and sausage version, rather than the one that includes shrimp and/or seafood. Glad you could enjoy someone else’s cooking ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. egghill says:

    Grandchildren: (my youngest 1.5 yrs, has found her words and she’s parroting everything anyone says – so cute), and food: I made a chicken thigh, dried cherry, olives, port wine dish that I found on WebMD (they have lots and lots of recipes from Eating Well) that was to die for.

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      It’s so cute when they start talking – but sometimes it means you have to pay more attention to what you say, because you know they’ll start repeating it! Glad to hear your new recipe worked out well, sometimes it’s a gamble trying new things.

      Like

Any thoughts?

