Made It

We arrived safely, though not without some adventures. One of them included our small bus in Honduras losing a piece of the linkage to the transmission and us winding up on the side of the road, trying to figure out how we could fix it. We do have a mechanically inclined guy on the team and he helped diagnose it, but the supplies to fix it were non existent. Then, one of the ladies had an idea – we have a lot of craft supplies with us for the VBS we’ll be helping with, including pipe cleaners…

So the guys (our facilitator, the driver, and one half of the couple leading us) did something with a pair of pipe cleaners and got us back on the road. Not even kidding, pipe cleaners. It got us far enough down the road to pull off at a place where we could borrow some tools and a couple nuts to fix it more permanently. It’s such a mission trip story, I love it. 🙂

Honduras is so beautiful. In the two-ish hour trip up into the mountains from the coastal airport, I saw so many things that remind me of Papua New Guinea where I grew up. It’s so green and warm. It even smells the same. 🙂 There are many things that remind me of my time in Mexico as well. But then something uniquely Honduran will come along and it almost feels jarring because everything else is so familiar. I have been taking pictures of the beautiful scenery, but haven’t had the chance to get them off my camera (I’m on a borrowed computer.)

Of course, there are un-beautiful things as well. There are a lot of derelict properties with se vende (for sale) signs. I don’t know the numbers for the poverty levels here, but it’s obvious along the sides of the roads. The trash and the scrawny, free-ranging dogs are part of the familiarity for me. And yet, there is hope. There are people investing in the children, in the future of this country. There are people working for good, for hope. I am happy that we are able to be a part of bringing hope to the children.

I am so glad I’m here – I’m enjoying finding out how much Spanish is still in my head, even though there are some vocabulary gaps, I’m enjoying the team, I’m enjoying the food so far. I already know it’s going to be hard going back, though. For one thing, I’m sitting here barefooted with the door open letting in the fresh air and am not freezing. 🙂 Very much not looking forward to going back to the cold. For another, I miss the green. I know it will get green again where I live eventually, but the jungle here reminds me so much of where I grew up. And I know the more I connect with the people here, the sadder it is going to be to leave them. But I know it will be worth it. 🙂

I’m not sure how often I’ll be able to post, or when I’ll get my pictures up, but I am looking forward to sharing what I can. Thanks for joining me on the journey.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made It

  1. mandyinpng says:

    Hahaha, I love the pipe cleaner story!!! And I’m jealous of the green and warm…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday 3-12-15 | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

