Thankful Thursday 3-12-15

I had fully intended to post last Thursday, I even had my list already started, but then I didn’t remember until Friday afternoon. 😛 Thursday was the afternoon we did the paper prayer chain and rock painting crafts at VBS (that turned out wonderfully!), then spent the evening at the pastor’s family’s house for dinner and laughed ourselves silly, and then got involved in craft prep for the following day until we finally fell into bed exhausted. So not remembering to post is okay.

In case you’re just catching up, I spent last week on a trip to Honduras with a group from my church. We partnered with La Providencia there. We spent the mornings helping in various ways at their bi-lingual school, including tutoring in reading and math, entering books into their library catalog, setting up a projector and extra computer in the library, and the guys got started on the construction of what will eventually be a little store for the staff or visitors. I think the Honduran word for it is pulpería, in Mexico it would be called a tienda, in Papua New Guinea, a kai bar. We spent the afternoons helping with the crafts and games for a VBS at a small local church, with an occasional skit thrown in.

I have written about the trip here and here so far, with at least one more post in the works. I’m also in the process of sorting through my hundreds of pictures and will post some of those when I get done.

But, back to the thankfulness. 🙂 I have an abundance of things to be thankful for from the last two weeks. The ones I had written down and the ones I can think of at the moment include:

  • dental floss
  • the kind of mother who is willing to make a 3 am wake-up call to be sure her girl with sleep issues doesn’t miss her international flight (love you Mom!)
  • reflective road signs, because they are easier to see in the dark after the aforementioned 3 am waking
  • safe travels there and back, in spite of the bus issues (the bus driver felt it going, so we came to a very gentle stop by the side of the road and then couldn’t go again; for having a break-down it was rather a calm way to do it)

    Bougainvillea, Honduras 3/2/15

    Bougainvillea, Honduras
    3/2/15

  • the beautiful flowers and green things all over Honduras – especially because of the distinct lack of them at this time of year where I currently live
  • that the Academia La Providencia had a need we could help with involving library books, since they are among my favorite things 🙂
  • that repetitive tasks like cataloging don’t seem to push my “pull-my-hair-out” buttons like they do for some people
  • that kids are kids the whole world round, so it makes some things very understandable even across language barriers – like the fun of bubbles and poking each other instead of paying attention to the instructions, for instance
  • the team working smoothly together, even with some widely differing backgrounds and strengths
  • laughter to ease the tension – whether it’s over a mis-translation or a funny joke or a fire ants dance (not me, one of our team guys involved in the deconstruction before building)
  • missing the 9+ inches (23 cm) of snow that arrived at home while we were gone 🙂
  • the flexibility to adjust our plans to the space we had and the number of kids – the space was quite limited and we had from 40 to 60 kids, ranging from 3 or 4 years to 8th or 9th grade
  • that even though we didn’t finish either all of the cataloging or the pulpería, we still made good progress on both and were able to leave satisfied (if sad to be going)
  • a bit of a break in the awful cold, so we could return to temperatures above freezing instead of the 10 degrees (-12 C) we left in
  • all the people who prayed for and supported this trip
  • enthusiastic small-person hugs at the end of a long week

Alright, I’m up to more than twice my usual number of things and if I keep going much longer I’ll be writing all night, so I should stop. 🙂 Hopefully you can tell it was a good trip. 🙂 I know most of you haven’t traveled internationally in the past two weeks, so the things you are thankful for might not look the same (though I bet those of you with kids can agree with me on the last one, right?) but I would still love to hear them if you would like to share. The comment box is always open!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 3-12-15

  1. mithriluna says:

    Such a lovely post. What a blessing to be able participate on a mission trip and to give service and love to those in need. I do a Thankful Thursday post every week. Here’s mine:
    https://mithriluna.wordpress.com/2015/03/12/thankful-thursday-lessons-in-winter/

    Like

  2. Fun! This week I’m thankful for going to a swimming pool for the first time in years!

    Like

Any thoughts?

