Thankful Thursday 4-2-15

Pardon the quiet on the blogging end, life has gotten a bit… complicated with car issues in recent weeks, which has often precluded sitting down to write. There has been some positive progress, though, so hopefully that will quiet down soon. I went on a very quickly planned trip South to see my parents last Wednesday and drove home with a new used car (no more leaks! among other things…). It was great to see them again, and to be the first of the kids to see their new place where they’ll be for the next couple of years. Still some loose ends to wrap up paperwork-wise, but I do like the new-to-me car (below, on a test drive.)

20150325_newcamry

Along with the car, there are many things to be thankful for the past two weeks, including:

  • my wonderful supportive family (I know, I usually try not to repeat things, just for ’cause, but they deserve it)
  • finding a very cheap ticket for something so last-minute (I wound up saving money by not bringing a bag bigger than my “personal item” backpack – I was actually a bit chuffed that I’m a seasoned enough traveler to make it 5 days on one less-than-filled backpack and a stop at a washing machine πŸ™‚ )
  • beautiful driving weather on the trip home and some beautiful sights (I don’t have my camera with me at the moment to pull the pictures off, but I’ll share eventually)

    Bright blue sky, green grass, palm trees between

    From the plane window
    Honduras, 3/7/15

  • surviving the nearly 1,400 mile (2,200+ km) drive home by myself – the farthest I’ve gone solo so far, even if I did take three days – in spite of a couple of missed turns unplanned detours
  • getting to see two sets of good friends along the way; it had been a long time for both
  • (to switch topic) the satisfaction of finishing a large work project done well
  • having weather today that was warm (upper 60’s F/ 20-ish C) and sunny enough to sit outside for lunch the first time this year, even if it was so windy I had to hold everything down
  • thatΒ giant bowl of pozole – spicy Mexican soup with hominy and pork – from last Thursday night that lasted me three meals πŸ™‚
  • the joy of introducing my parents to the wonder of the Half Price Books clearance section πŸ™‚ (ask my mom about her awesome find, if you know her πŸ˜‰ )

Okay, I’ve got to stop somewhere, so it might as well be on that note. I hope to get back to blogging more regularly soon. Most of you probably haven’t been on any epic road-trips in the past two weeks, but how do you feel about used book clearance sections? πŸ™‚ Have you ever had pozole? How’s the weather in your part of the world, is it worth being thankful for? I’d welcome any contributions to my thankful list from yours!

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankful Thursday 4-2-15

  1. Gramma says:

    Having spring weather here for the most part. Need rain and snow badly but have to enjoy what we have. God is good.

    Like

  2. heatherfeather@christiangirl.com says:

    Hi Ruth, I’m glad to hear you are doing well! I can’t wait to see your Honduras photos! *hug*

    Like

  3. Wow, that is an epic drive home! Longer than New Zealand, in fact.
    Myself, I am thankful for all the yummy books available to me in the library!

    Like

  4. Kara Brown says:

    We have been having very warm dry weather here in Nor Cal. It has been enjoyable (though tainted with a little trouble from lack of rain)
    I LOVE pozole! Last November our new neighbors had a dia de los muertos party and Miguel’s mother brought amazing homemade pozole for us all.
    I am thankful today for the cross. =) We just came home from a Good Friday service at our church and I have been listening to old hymns on my computer since then. It has been on my mind now.

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      I am glad to find someone else who loves pozole! πŸ™‚ It was one of my favorite meals when I lived in Mexico.
      The weather radar says you are getting some rain (and snow in the mountains!) today – I hope it is not too much, but just enough. I know how dry California can get…

      Like

  5. Pingback: Thankful Thursday 4-30-15 | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

