Thankful Thursday 6-4-15

Another Thursday is here, again. Which is a good thing, of course, since it means time is progressing in an orderly manner. ๐Ÿ˜› It is currently raining where I am, also again.

I was feeling a bit disgruntled about posting today, given that last night and this morning did not go the way I wanted, to my frustration, and considered not doing it. But then I thought, oh, so you’re not thankful for… and the other thing… and… and before I knew it I had 5 out of my usual minimum of 6 items to put on a list. I won’t say my day perked right up, but it was eye-opening to remind myself that there had been more to my week than that morning and some of it had been good and worth being thankful for.

Which I suppose is the point of this whole exercise – and means it’s still working two years in. (Yes, I did manage to miss the two year anniversary of both launching this blog and my first Thankful Thursday post while I was not posting last month, and I do like anniversaries, but hey. Life happens. ๐Ÿ˜› )

So, in the vein of life happening and having things to be thankful for in spite of sometimes things not going the way we’d like, here are the things I am thankful for this week:

  • three big, beautiful new cobalt blueย soup bowls from Kmart, which I got free thanks to points with them, and are replacing the set of four Kellogg’s branded bowls that my brother S gave me my freshman year of college (which was a few years ago… Thanks S!) and on which the finish has started to crack, since they had a good long life. (I wanted four of the new bowls, but they only had three on hand – and what’re you going to do when they are free? ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    cover of North & South DVD package

    (c) BBC 2005

  • weather cool enough to turn the AC off, even though that means it has also been raining and grey for the last four days
  • clean sheets (I didn’t wash them yet, I just changed to a new set)
  • finding BBC One’s 4-part miniseriesย North & South at my library last weekend. It’s an adaptation of Elizabeth Gaskell’s book of the same title (which I haven’t read yet), about the culture clash when a parson’s family is transplanted from the south of 1850’s England to a northern industrial town in the booming cotton industry. Of course, there is also a love story, between the parson’s daughter and a handsome mill owner, but it’s complicated by the aforementioned cultural conflicts and economic and social factors. I first saw it with friends from high school several years ago and have enjoyed watching it again. (Now I’m in the mood for Pride & Prejudice though… ๐Ÿ™‚ )
  • more clean dishes in my house than there used to be. Not all of them that need it, yet, but more than there were two days ago.
  • that tomorrow is a new day and I can try again

Well, I wound up “talking” more than I had planned, and typing two fingered on this device that I’m using (thanks brother D!) takes probably as long or longer than handwriting it would have, but it allows me to still get my post up on Thursday after the library (where I access the internet mostly) has closed. We’ll see how tomorrow goes – hopefully however it turns out, there are things to be thankful for in it. If you have anything you’re thankful for, the comment box below is always open. I hope your tomorrow goes well too.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday 6-4-15

  1. Dan says:

    Sorry you had a rough day. Here’s hoping tomorrow is better.

    Like

  2. Oo – North & South! Must read & watch that.
    I make sure to get my P&P fix whenever I’m sick – it’s the perfect pick-me-up.
    Have you seen the new-ish Sense & Sensibility miniseries, also adapted by Andrew Davies? It’s really good! I may have to save up and buy a copy…

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Yes, if you haven’t seen North & South, you must! (Or if you just haven’t seen it in a while.) And then email me ๐Ÿ˜‰ I haven’t seen Sense & Sensibility in a very long time and I have no idea what version the one I saw was. ๐Ÿ˜› If you recommend the Davies version, though, I’ll have to see if my library has it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Any thoughts?

