Thankful Thursday 10-22-15

It was Friday afternoon before I realized I’d forgotten to write my Thankful Thursday post last week. Which made me a bit sad, because I already had half a list of things I was thankful for:

  • that the water heater wasn’t actually broken, it was just some valves that hadn’t been turned back after some construction at work
  • how building a jigsaw puzzle with family can still be fun even when it turns out to be more challenging than you thought it would
  • having old family friends over for dessert and card games – growing up on the other side of the world, I don’t get to see people from those years very often and it’s fun to reconnect and laugh

I had other things that were taking up my focus last week, so posting pretty much slipped my mind. Friday night was busy, then I thought about posting on Saturday, but wound up doing other important things like watering my indoor plants instead. By Sunday I decided I might as well just wait till Thursday. Of course, while waiting, I found more things to add to my list:

cute piglets in a row "MMMM - Bacon Seeds"

  • memes that make me grin (and family that passes them along) 🙂
  • the sound of rain after a long dry spell (though it’s not quite as beautiful without a tin roof 😉 )
  • how the timing of songs on the radio can make me smile – the Rocky theme song came on the other day just when I needed a pick-me-up
  • that even though one of my new little striped spider plants didn’t make it, the other one has two new leaves and is working on a decent set of roots

And, I’m thankful that I remembered to post on a Thursday this time, so I don’t have bits of lists rattling around in my head anymore. Till I start the next one, that is. 😛 So, here’s to another week done, to smiles for many reasons, and encouraging growth. Do you have any things (big or small) that you’re thankful for? Or any memes that have made you smile recently? 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 10-22-15

  1. Bacon seeds! (insert unladylike snort)
    Your mention of card games reminded me of playing Up and Down the River at your house, which reminded me that you were my source for the immortal phrase “Get me some jelly – ’cause I’m on a roll!” Doesn’t really work in NZ English but I love it all the same.

    Like

  2. Aunt Susan says:

    I love the bacon seeds! Also the comment on your spider plant made me smile, because I have a beautiful spider plant that came from a rooting from your Grandma Gossner 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts?

