Changes

My left knee sometimes sounds like breakfast cereal when I get down on the floor. Bruises take longer to stop being pretty colors than they used to. My brain turns to pudding on not enough sleep faster than it once did. I have found more than one grey hair. Since I’m no longer a “twenty-something,” I’ve had to update my About Me page. I know, it’s just another day, it’s not like a whole year goes past in a jump when a birthday comes along. These changes have all been happening gradually for a while, it’s just that birthdays make you sit up and notice that they’ve been happening. (Though, to be honest, I started finding grey hairs a couple years ago, so I’m not sure that one really counts.)

white birthday cake with curly blue candles (stock photo)This past May was quite a month, with my birthday reminding me of time passing and getting laid off from my job reminding me of the unpredictability of life. The first few days after my birthday felt a little weird, just having that number apply to me, but then I settled into it. Age is what it is; there’s nothing I could do about it if I wanted to change it, which I don’t. The job change was much more unanticipated and abrupt, though, and I spent most of the month at loose ends, trying to figure out what next.

Then, at the end of June and still unemployed, I made the decision on something that had been a back-burner possibility for a while, and moved halfway across the country. It was a bit of a whirlwind, with two years’ worth of apartment clutter (not to mention a lifetime of books and keepsakes) sorted, packed, shoved in a trailer and on the road ten days after deciding. Huge thanks to my parents who came up and helped pack and clean, along with hauling the trailer.

In the process of moving, I also applied for a job at my destination. We took the long way around and stopped to see family (and help my niece C celebrate her first birthday :-).) It was great to see them, and while there I did a phone interview and got the job offer. Then we drove roughly 1,300 miles (2,000-ish km) in three days. Thankfully no car or trailer trouble, but some pretty intense rain more than once. There is something uniquely terrifying about going 30 or 40 miles an hour when you genuinely can’t see because it’s raining so hard, even with your wipers on frantic. But you can’t stop, or someone else who also can’t see is likely to hit you.

It was July 4th weekend when we arrived, so we unloaded most of my things into a storage unit and then laid around recuperating. That Wednesday I did orientation and paperwork and started my new job the next day. I went from unemployed, living in an apartment in the Mid-Atlantic, to working at a campus dining hall, living in my parents’ guest bedroom in Texas, in exactly three weeks. 😛 More about the job in an upcoming post.

Time zone mapSo I’ve had a wealth of changes this summer, to say the least. I’ve been adjusting to the new climate (so thankful for air conditioning!) and settling into the new job. I’ve also changed time zones, which I still forget to correct for sometimes after eleven years on Eastern time. I have noticed a few ways I should start slowing down a little (or at least, considering things first more than I once would have), though being on my feet all day now has me in better shape than the office job did, so things sort of balance out.

I figured while I was going about updating those of you who don’t know already on what’s been happening in my life, I should update the blog as well. The aforementioned About Me page has gotten some relatively minor tweaks, but the About the Blog page has gotten a major overhaul. An update for the Photo Gallery page may be ahead, but it’s lower priority. I also finally replaced my “Spring” header picture with a “Fall” one, which isn’t important, but it makes me feel better. It’s a bit like the relief of finally taking your Christmas decorations down in February.

So, that sort of fills in the gap from May through August, including when I wasn’t blogging. Plus a bit of a polish for the blog, which is always good. Changes will continue, I’m sure, since this is life after all, but I am hoping they will be at a somewhat reduced rate for a while. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes

  1. Grey hair is a crown for the wise 🙂 I have a few silver hairs myself, though the jury is out on whether I’m wise or not!
    Glad your move went well. Why is it that changes all cluster together?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday 9-24-15 | A Road on My Journey

Any thoughts?

