Thankful Thursday 1-14-16

Well, I got 2 out of 4 on my to-do list done last Thursday. “Post Thankful Thursday” was one that didn’t get done. Actually, it’s probably more like 1 1/2 out of 4, since “go to bed at a decent time” turned into ” at least I went to bed earlier than last night.” 😛

Even though I didn’t post, I did still write down a few things, so I wouldn’t forget them. I’ve added a couple more this week; and, even though it’s late, I do want to get this post up. Partly because of what I mentioned two weeks ago about momentum, partly because stopping to be deliberately thankful is a good exercise for me. Plus, I like checking things off my list. 🙂

So, over the last two weeks, I have been thankful for:

  • an Epiphany gift of fruit from a coworker (“It’s supposed to represent the gold, frankincense, and myrrh the wise men brought – at least the apple is a Golden Delicious, but for the rest of it, you just have to pretend.” 🙂 )
  • the opportunities I have to learn from people who celebrate things I never havetwo rusty green pears
  • the scrumptious mint chocolate shake I created by putting some mint truffle Hershey’s kisses, a couple Andes mints, some chocolate ice cream, and some milk in a blender last Thursday. Ridiculously good.
  •  my bed warmer – it’s like an electric blanket, but it goes around the bed under the bottom sheet. So more of a giant heating pad than an electric blanket, I guess, but I love it. For someone who regularly gets cold feet (occasionally they get so cold on the way to bed that I have a hard time falling asleep) and doesn’t have anyone else to warm them up on, an electric bed warmer is a wonderful thing.
  • my youngest nephew, who turned one this week – Happy Birthday Z! Sure loved spending time with you over the Christmas-New Year’s week, even when you jabbed in your elbows on your way up the couch-mountain. 😉
  • a relatively smooth two weeks at work through some pretty big transitions – my boss retired, so there has been some position-shuffling and a couple of new hires. Everyone’s still getting fed and things seem to be going fairly well, though there’s still more learning to do and wrinkles to iron out.

I know there was a least one more from this week I was going to add, but I didn’t actually write it down and now I can’t remember. 😛 Oh well, sometimes my brain just fills up with other things. I hope your week has gone reasonably well, and that the week ahead does too. Hopefully it holds delightful little things, like mint chocolate shakes, small gifts, and baby-toothed grins. Feel free to chime in on anything you’re thankful for!

~~*~~

Ah ha! I remembered! I’m also thankful for Cracked Pepper flavored sunflower seeds – they’re my new favorite flavor, and they’re so good. Plus, I can tell myself they’re a healthier alternative to the Doritos I’d really like to be munching on. 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 1-14-16

  1. Electric blankets are wonderful, although happily we don’t need ours just at the moment because it’s summer. Most nights, anyway! And there’s always the hot water bottle if things get really desperate 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan Gossner says:

    I love SmartWool socks to keep my feet warm. It was wonderful to see you!

    Like

Any thoughts?

