Thankful Thursday 6-2-16

Once again, I didn’t intend the preceding months of blog silence. Thank you to those readers who are still here. I don’t have a “good excuse” or a handful of them, even. Just life. Life’s been rolling on, one day at a time, without me getting up the momentum to blog again. I have thought about it, though, fairly often.

Things haven’t been all that bad – I didn’t shut down because I couldn’t take communicating anymore (which has happened in the past.) I’ve still got a job at the Dining Hall which I love. I’m not in the dishwasher position anymore; I work up front now, doing cashier and a whole bundle of random things that add up to a full 9-to-5. We’ve got a great team that works well together. I still love that my “commute” is a three minute walk to work. 🙂

The weather where I currently live is in that “too hot to be pleasant, but not quite hot enough to turn the air conditioner on if you’re stubborn” [and/or live with people who have spent most of the last twenty-five years in the tropics with no ac.] It’s also quite humid, as we’ve been having record rain. I’m alright with both, especially since we have ceiling fans, which I didn’t in my last three apartments (granted, those were in the north east, where heating is more important.)

So the weather and the job and my health have all been pretty good. I just haven’t been writing. I started this list a while ago, and then earlier this week got a little nudge to go ahead and finish it and put it up.

This week, and over the past weeks, I’ve been thankful:Ornate Letter T

  • for a timely reminder from a friend that thankfulness is a good habit
  • that I realized what I was doing a half-second before I added a full scoop of coffee to a brew basket with no filter
  • for people who understand being “not from around here”
  • for insulated coffee mugs with lids – so that when I knocked over the one on my boss’ desk while gesticulating the other day, it didn’t make a giant mess
  • for that moment when, after the fan’s been going all night with the window open, you’re cool enough to reach over and pull up the extra blanket and it’s deliciously warm
  • for a helium Happy Birthday baloon still going strong weeks later
  • for the opportunity to try one more time
  • for the smiles a free box of Goldfish mac’n’cheese gave me – and that it tasted fine even though it was more than a year out of date 🙂

So there you have it, a generous handful of things I have found to be thankful for, plus enough of an update to know that I’m doing okay. Do you have anything you’re thankful for that you’d like to add to my list? Have you found thankfulness a helpful habit, now or in the past? Has anything made you smile lately? Perhaps something slightly odd, like out-of-date mac’n’cheese? 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday 6-2-16

  1. I am thankful for thick woollen duvets and blankets! It’s been 3*C here the last couple of nights. I am also thankful for a heater that makes it warm enough to get out of bed in the morning (although leaving the bedroom may be still hazardous to the health…) Also jerseys! I am very thankful for warm woolly jerseys, and for the cardigan I have almost-but-not-quite finished knitting. (I hope it fits.)

    Like

  2. Heather Benton says:

    Ruth I’m glad to see you are still alive! I was texting Liz through WhatsApp and she was thinking about you, so I thought I would look up your blog again. I’m thankful for Internet search engines since my email was wiped and I lost the link. How are you doing, how is life?

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Heather! How are you?! So glad you found me again. 🙂 I’ve been thinking about sending out a “Holy mackerel, guys, ten whole years since we met in Arizona!” group email – but since that was in August, I haven’t done it yet. 🙂
      To keep this from getting too long, I’ll email you with more of “how’s life.” 🙂

      Like

  3. Joanna says:

    You DO have a beautiful commute/walk to work (especially if you take the long way and walk across the bridge!).

    Like

Any thoughts?

