Thankful Thursday 9-8-16

So, the Olympics happened. 🙂 I actually got a notebook and journaled most nights as I was watching, just for fun. I have a notebook from the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics – which I actually haven’t read most of since the day I wrote it. I did find it on a recent trip to my storage unit, so I’m planning to read it soon. Maybe I’ll read the two notebooks together…

In the back of some other notebook somewhere in storage I’ve got some notes on the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics and I’ve got some loose leaf/ scrap paper notes on the 2012 London Summer Olympics, also somewhere (again, neither of which I’ve re-read, but it might be fun to consolidate them all into an Olympics Collection someday.) Which is what gave me the idea to get a dedicated notebook for Sochi, which was fun to do. I enjoy playing with the words and trying to capture the feelings as they happen. I didn’t want to pay for a new notebook for Rio, so this time the Olympics are in with some other stuff – the 2016 Oscars, a conference I went to, “things to know” about where I was house-siting, etc. Perhaps I’ll go through it and pull out some of the good bits to put here, just for kicks.

Anyway, that was a lot of fun, a lot of intense, awesome moments (I enjoyed texting with my sister-in-law C during live swimming one night, too, and sharing the intensity. 🙂 ) But they are over and life has rolled on – it’s been quite different for those who came home with medals (and what an incredible haul Team USA had!), but pretty much the same for the rest of us. In the mundanity of this past week, there have still been a variety of things to be thankful for. In no particular order, I am thankful:

  • for finding my little tin box from Christmas tucked away in the pantry where I’d put it when cleaning off counters a few months ago and forgotten it. Not for the box itself, necessarily, but because it still has a half dozen mint truffle chocolates in it. 🙂
  • for the satisfaction of checking things off a to-do list (am I the only one who will add something I’ve done that wasn’t on the list, just so I can cross it off?)
  • for these cool flowers, a trio of which have popped up in our flower bed after the rain woke them up a few weeks ago. The picture is a top down shot, so you can’t see that there’s no leaves (those in the picture are from irises also in the bed), there’s just a bulb that hides underground and then sends up one long green stalk that explodes like a floral firework on the end.

    Multi-headed red flower with long thin bits sticking out

    09/06/16

  • for the way a new book smells (used/old books smell good too, but quite different) – which, this time, is combined with the pleasure of having used a good coupon well. I got Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games in Spanish (Los Juegos Del Hambre) for 40% off thanks to a Labor Day coupon. I already have the entire trilogy in English (and have seen all four movies) and decided that picking a story I’m already familiar with would be a good idea for my first attempt at a full length novel in another language.
  • for Google Translate, even with the faults inherent to machine translation, for looking up the words in Los Juegos Del Hambre that I don’t know. It’s a bit brain-stretchy so far, but good – and certainly good for expanding my vocabulary list. 🙂
  • for that Chipotle Tabasco sauce we got for free a while back – because I just added a slug of it to some slightly boring salsa that I ran through the blender (to reduce chunks) and now the salsa is awesome. 🙂

On a completely different note, the Rio Paralympics had their opening ceremony yesterday. But they are only being broadcast on one of NBC’s networks, which I don’t get with the bunny ears. They are saying it’s a step up in coverage, since the London Paralympics apparently were barely covered at all here, but it’s still nothing like the attention the Olympics get, which is unfair. It is supposedly available online, so I may see if I can find some to watch there. Do any of you, readers, follow the Paralympics?

Okay, my laundry has just finished in the dryer, so I’d better quit rambling and go. As always, though, please feel free to share anything you’ve been thankful for this week or in recent weeks. More thankfulness is always better. 🙂

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursday 9-8-16

  1. I’m thankful that we got enough space cleared of boxes after moving house that we could get the heater going – while the sleet pelted down outside our otherwise unheated home!

    Like

Any thoughts?

