Thankful Thursday 3-2-17

This post has been in the works a long time – I started the list below for posting on February 9th, then I got this actual post three quarters done on the 23rd and now I am finally posting it on the 2nd of March. πŸ˜› Life has certainly been busy in the meantime.

This week and over the past weeks, I have been and am thankful:

  • for more than one night in the past month that was warm enough to sleep without several of the half-dozen blankets on my bed
    Clear sky sunset with the sun glinting orange through trees

    Sunset, 1/30/17

  • for how endlessly unique sunsets are
  • for a trip to visit a good friend the last weekend in January – and the fun of watching her 18 month old be brave enough to try operating the hose with the fireman on our fire station tour πŸ™‚
  • for finding nice clothes for cheap at a local thrift shop in her town after I got myself in a jam by forgetting my Sunday outfit at home πŸ˜›
  • for a new-to-me CD bought for a dollar on clearance because it had a song I liked from a music streaming website that turned out to have several songs I enjoy. It made the drive home fun πŸ™‚
  • for the getting un-lost skills I developed when living in the town before this current one, since getting lost apparently comes naturally to me. πŸ˜› Said skills also came in handy on my trip…
    Purple-blue sunset with lacy clouds

    Sunset, 2/3/17

  • for an informative full hearing test in early February (after a preliminary in October indicated some more investigating might be needed.) I do have moderate loss in both ears in a couple of higher frequencies, thanks to multiple ear infections growing up, but my word recognition is 100% and my speech recognition threshold is still well within normal conversational range, so I won’t be getting hearing aids at this point. It was good to get more information about what is actually going on and to establish a baseline to compare future tests to.
  • that said hearing test was free
  • for strawberry preserves on a hot biscuit
  • that the crochet gauge I made for a new project (I think the first gauge I’ve ever made) actually came out right the first time πŸ™‚
  • for the fun of attending my first Scottish Highland Games last Saturday – watching the caber toss live is pretty incredible
  • that no one got hurt at the Games (at least, not hurt enough to admit it) πŸ™‚

    Reading back over it, that’s quite the list – I did say life has been busy! And there’s more that I’m saving for the next post so that I can finally get this one posted. πŸ˜› I am glad that in the middle of the busy there have been things to be thankful for. How about you? 

    About Ruth

    I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
    This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    5 Responses to Thankful Thursday 3-2-17

    1. Robin Hourigan says:

      I liked reading what you’re thankful for Ruth!
      I’m thankful for a husband who still loves me after 38 years, 5 kids, and 13 grandkids.
      I’m thankful for God who gives us grace in all of that parenting, and serving Him together.
      I’m thankful for friends like you , who set a good example of being thankful!

      Like

      • Ruth says:

        Robin! Long time no “see” πŸ™‚ You sure have been blessed with family. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading – and for adding to the Thankful list! πŸ™‚

        Like

    2. I’m thankful that my eyes have recovered sufficiently from the touch-up surgery that I can read and write (a little). And for LP books to bridge that gap πŸ™‚

      Like

    3. Joanna says:

      Catching up on your blog after being in the village…thanks for continuing to post your lists of blessings!

      Like

    Any thoughts?

    