Thankful Thursday 11-1-18

I skipped a week by not posting last week and didn’t mean to, but ah well, life goes on. Things get dirty and things get cleaned. Things break and things get repaired or replaced. Food gets eaten, friends get hugged, cute kids get smiled at. Life goes on.

Over the last two weeks, I have been thankful:

  • That I have enough clean and hole-free socks that “reorganizing my sock storage” was a thing that needed to happen. Among other things, I sorted them for seasons – now all the knee socks and fuzzy socks are together in one place.
  • That when my hands slipped in the process of pouring from the #10 can into the smaller container and I spilled a large amount of jalapeno juice on the floor, it was late in the day and I could take my time cleaning up, instead of happening in the rush before lunch, or when there was a lot of traffic through that part of the kitchen. Sometimes it takes more effort than other times to be thankful. I did not enjoy that cleanup process, but it could have been worse.

    Man in kilt attempting to turn/toss large piece of wood called a caber

    Caber toss, 10-27-18

  • For fine weather for the Scottish Highland Games I went to with friends on Saturday. These were my third Highland Games in the last two years – that is, my third time going to an event that isΒ just the Games, I’ve been to four Celtic Festivals which also included Games. This time was much nicer than the Games at the same location back in February, when it rained sideways for half an hour before they started, and was twenty or thirty degrees colder. πŸ˜› We had more fun this time, and enjoyed some good barbecue after.
  • That two of the maintenance workers were able to find a small spring from a hardware store to replace the one in our ice maker that had bent and was keeping a water valve from functioning the way it should have. This allowed our nearly twenty year old ice maker to keep working long enough for the new one to arrive, thus sparing us from having to buy any ice while we waited.
  • For the new ice maker arriving sooner than we had thought it might, and for the installation this morning going smoothly. Because it has a stainless steel exterior instead of a plastic one, it is very shiny. πŸ™‚ And hopefully easier to clean. I will say, though, that an industrial ice machine dropping fresh ice into a large empty bin is quite loud. Our old machine almost never got actually empty, so there was always old ice for the fresh ice to land on. The new machine should (I hope) run without trouble all night, so the bin should be fuller and quieter in the morning.
  • For sunshine with patchy clouds today after intermittent torrential rains yesterday. It was even warm enough that I sat outside for my afternoon break and enjoyed my Greek yogurt on a bench. It should be warmer tomorrow, I believe.
  • That I was able to figure out the problem I was having with downloading my audio books, so now I have them and can listen on my little mp3 player. Though I haven’t listened to them all yet, four of the five have British narrators and just listening to the samples makes me smile. πŸ™‚

I’m glad to find things that make me smile, little things to enjoy like a warm bench, or a tangy orange, things to be thankful for. What makes you smile? What have you been thankful for this week?

About Ruth

I am a Missionary Kid (MK) enjoying navigating this life with the unique viewpoint that has given me.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 11-1-18

  1. I’m thankful for yesterday’s sunshine (even though it didn’t last) and warm furry cats who like to cuddle on cold days.

    Like

    • Ruth says:

      Mmm, yes, cuddly cats are nice on cold days. πŸ™‚ I’m listening to an audiobook of Guards! Guards! just now – “… and drunken Captain Vimes of the Night Watch staggered along the street and folded up gently in the gutter…” not the best entrance for such a great character, but I love the monolog that comes after that. πŸ™‚ Also “a good book shop is just a genteel black hole that knows how to read.” πŸ˜€ So many good lines, just in the first ten minutes… I thought of you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?